JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Katherine R.

Care Companion in Arvada, CO 80005.

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

  • University of Colorado Denver

    University of Colorado Denver

Arvada, CO

  • Age 55
  • 1 year paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates

Katherine’s Bio

I accepted the caregiver role when my grandfather was in hospice care at his home. I was also working and attending college classes so I shared the care time with my grandmother, hospice workers and sometimes another relative, who was a nurse. He was in hospice care for about 2 mos before he passed away. About 10 years later, my grandmother was diagnosed with non-Hodgkins Leukemia. I moved in with her for a little over 3 mos to help her through her treatment and ultimately through her end-of-life hospice care. Both were wonderful experiences, as I felt I had discovered a natural talent of mine. I am compassionate, non-judgmental, understanding, appropriate, trust-worthy and, most importantly, calm. I have only been trained for situational needs by hospice care nurses, social workers and volunteers. However, I am very careful with medication schedules. I have a new vehicle that is very safe and comfortable. My other care-taker experience involved a severe abuse survivor who developed such a deep trust in me that a multitude of repressed memories surfaced and were relived at increasingly more frequent opportunities as the trust level grew. She moved in with me so that I could be there to create an atmosphere of safety and therapeutic security. I felt so blessed that God gave me the grace to give her the proper responses and care during those excruciating memories. I learned about cell memory and saw that the mind is able to compartmentalize pain, especially after life threatening abuse. The experience changed my life in so many ways. I am signed up to train with the Arvada Police Dept. to become a Volunteer Victim Advocate, which will be starting soon. That will give me more tools for relating to people who are going through a hard time.


Age Specific Experience

1 year paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Available to start on 2/21/2014


My availability is valid through 3/22/14

  • Weekday Afternoons
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken

  • French


Clarice B. is a reference for Katherine R. Relationship: Family
Jump to Top
Katherine R.
Katherine R.
Arvada, CO 80005

of age


years experience

Home Care Rates

  • University of Colorado Denver

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now