JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Nina S. Care Companion in Fairfield, CT 06825

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

Fairfield, CT

  • Age 58
  • 25 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

Nina’s Bio

I hold a BSW degree in medical social work with a concentration in gerontology. I have worked as a medical social worker, working closely with both the client and their family, being a liaison and advocate in both a hospital setting and agency setting. I ran group homes for the mentally challenged and also worked as private social worker coordinating care and advocacy for private clients and their families.

Additionally , i was a Court Appointed Special Advocate for the State of Connecticut, an independent appointment made by a judge in family court involving the investigation and determination of where the best place for the child and /or children of the assigned family case should live. A single case can take up to a year or more of interviewing , investigating and visits with the children in many varied settings and to present my findings to the judge of the case. I have also worked in the Corporate world in human resources .
I have two grown children . During the time I was raising my own children I was involved in volunteer work in the community and worked privately as an advocate for families with children with "special needs" helping them navigate and obtain what was best for their children in the school system.

Five years ago, I had the most important and hardest job I ever held.

I began the journey of taking care of my own sick and elderly parents, both whom were sick at the same time; my dad with kidney disease and my mom with the starting of and ending in full dementia.
Caring for them on every level from the simple to the complicated so they could remain in their own home vs a nursing home. From dressing , medication disbursement, meal prep, shopping , making and keeping the calendar of appointments ,transportation to the appointments , simple walks and outings to events, to house of worship to out for a meal , from watching their favorite tv shows, playing games and just keeping them company.

Upon their deaths, I choose to work privately, per diem, for families in the same situation who need support and care for their loved ones, not nursing care as i am not a cna.

I pride myself on being trustworthy , caring and understand the need to find the best and safest care for your loved one, I have the understanding of medical language and am skilled in being able to communicate effectively with not only the client but with their family as well, so all of us together can best support their loved one.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

25 years paid experience with:

  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 11/24/18

  • Weekday Early Morning
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons
  • Weekday Evenings
Jump to Top
Nina S.
Nina S.
Fairfield, CT 06825
58

years
of age

25

years experience

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now