JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Caitlin W.

Care Companion in Miami, FL 33131.

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Miami, FL

  • Age 31
  • 0 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within two months

Home Care Rates $25 per hour

Caitlin’s Bio

I became a caregiver at the young age of 5. This is my story. Months before I was born my father got into an accident at Plum Island, MA. He was pulled under by a strong undertow causing him to hit his head on the ocean floor. The impact broke his upper spine which made him a quadriplegic. My mother, a very strong woman in many aspects, pulled him from the water and stayed by his side from that day forward. At the age of 5 I began learning how to be a caregiver for my father. This instilled many skills and life lessons that others my age had never encountered.

When I was 14 my father was diagnosed with cancer. The cancer quickly took his life, but his longest struggle was with quadriplegia. In his honor, I vow to never stop my efforts in supporting the spinal cord injury community.

I've made it my mission to make a lasting, positive impact on the lives of others by sharing my personal story. I am proud to be a peer family mentor with the Greater Boston Chapter of the National Spinal Cord Injury Association. I continually strive to raise awareness and funds by gaining and addressing new audiences. I am currently working on an initiative that will improve the lives of those affected by SCI in addition to working in SCI research.

I am new to the LA area and would love to be a part of your family!

Experience

Age Specific Experience

0 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • On call (as needed)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Available to start on 6/18/2015

Availability

My availability is valid through 8/31/15

  • Open (all day, everyday)

References

Susan S. is a reference for Caitlin W. Relationship: Family
Jump to Top
Caitlin W.
Caitlin W.
Miami, FL 33131
31

years
of age

0

years experience

Home Care Rates $25 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now