JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Shannan S. Care Companion in Aurora, IL 60502

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Aurora, IL

  • Age 47
  • 1 year paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: This week

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

Shannan’s Bio

I am a caregiver, born with a heart for service. I have worked as a Career Nanny and Home Manager for 5 years in Oklahoma, Alabama and Chicago. I served as a volunteer Senior Companion in an assisted living facility in Oklahoma, where I helped senior's manage their medications, grocery shop and partake in gentle exercise. I also organized game nights, Family Day and worked with the local schools to bring senior's in to tell their life stories. For my own grandparents, I provided respite care on several occasions, which was my joy.

During this time I was also raising my two wonderful sons and managing a busy home. For the past year, I have been working as a Nanny Home Manager, but I find myself missing interacting with seniors. I find I get more from them than I could ever hope to give.

I have a Bachelors degree in Psychology and I've worked in the public schools as a special education paraeducator. I have owned my own successful interior design and home organization business and for 3 years I worked as a high level executive assistant. I am CPR certified. I have strong communication and writing skills, and a work ethic that drives me to gonabove abd beyond. I bond easily with those I care for and get along wel with all personalities. I am patient, persistent and positive - the three P's.

I would love to work with someone who does not have serious health issues, as I am not medically trained. I am comfortable working with those suffering from early stages of Alzheimer's, depression, physical limitations or other health issues not requiring medical training. I am comfortable working with family members and consider myself their partner in providing the very best care for their loved one.

If you think I might be a good fit for your needs, I would love to hear from you. All the best to you.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

1 year paid experience with:

  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Dressing
  • Grooming

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education
  • Mobility Training

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Pain Management

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • On call (as needed)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 7/21/18

  • Open (all day, everyday)
Jump to Top
Shannan S.
Shannan S.
Aurora, IL 60502
47

years
of age

1

years experience

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

  • Basic background check

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now