JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Alyce I. Care Companion in Chicago, IL 60614

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Chicago, IL

  • Age 65
  • 5 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within a month

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

Alyce’s Bio

I have 5 years professional experience as a full-time, companion / caretaker & cook to an 87 year old gentleman living at home. He suffered from early stages of dementia, hypertension, prostrate and skin cancers.

Although physically functional he still required assistance with small details of his daily routine(s) regarding: medication reminders, grooming, transportation and physical therapy.

My assignment originated when he had knee surgery and required assistance during his recovery. I assisted in therapeutic exercises, administered medications and ensured that he maintained a daily personal hygiene regiment. I prepared healthy and balanced meals and monitored his intake - salts & sugars.

He also suffered from early signs of dementia and arthritis for which I engaged him in physical activities as well as mental stimulus - i.e. board/card games, reading, computer skill sets, watched the History channel & news, along with his favorite 'old' movies or just enjoyed a conversation while he reminisced about a fond memory.

He loved to cook so I always occupied him in 'safe cooking' tasks to make him feel productive in the kitchen. Although he had a housekeeper, he occasionally enjoyed a cleaning project which I gladly participated in.

He felt a good degree of pleasure in doing laundry so we often sat at the table folding clothes together. I drove him to his Dr.'s appointments, would run errands with and without him depending on what he was up for. We frequented social outings as well. My primary goal was always to make him feel proud, have a sense of purpose and be a contributing individual to society.

Personally, I also cared for my Mom for approximately two years (prior) basically performing the same tasks. She suffered from rheumatoid arthritis, lymphoma and hip degeneration confining her to a wheel chair and required full-time assistance.

I find that caring for the elderly is an enjoyable and rewarding experience. They have a tremendous knowledge base to draw upon and are eager to share their lifetime experiences. My patience, sense of humor, compassion, love and affection lend themselves to a senior care position.  When working with seniors my goals are to make them feel needed, purposeful and confident while caring for their safe and "total" well-being.

Having raised 5 children of my own and cared for two seniors, I am confident that I can bring 30 years worth of enthusiastic nurturing to your "loved-one's" at home.
 

Experience

Age Specific Experience

5 years paid experience with:

  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education
  • Mobility Training

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Pain Management
  • Diabetic Care

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 10/16/15

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken

  • English

References

Sydney O. is a reference for Alyce I. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Alyce I.
Alyce I.
Chicago, IL 60614
65

years
of age

5

years experience

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

  • Basic background check

  • Enhanced background check

  • Motor vehicle records check

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now