JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Kelly L.

Care Companion in Ellery, IL 62833.

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Ellery, IL

  • Age 43
  • 15 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $36 per hour

Kelly’s Bio

I am observant, reliable, trustworthy and quick to learn new things. Former ER & Helicopter Flight Nurse, specializing in the care of the most critically injured, traumatic accidents, medical conditions, disease processes in ALL stages of life.  I am very serious when I say, I am typically the one running too a catastrophe, while everyone else is running away.  I have cared for every age group,  whether it be pregnancy, actual labor & delivery, newborns & all the way up to the elderly, I have cared for them all, along with working in various stages of a patients medical recovery & progression, including acute & long-term care, rehab, home health and end of life preparation, just to name a few, there were many more. I have been fortunate, to gain a VERY diverse work experience in 15+ yrs in healthcare. My first love and specialty area, was always Emergency Medicine/Cardiac/Trauma/Pre-Hospital RN (Paramedic+Registered Nurse), & Emergency Patient Transport/Transfer
(GROUND & AIR ambulance).  I do not have the statistics, but there are very few nurses, who have ever gained this level of ADVANCED skills experience, in BOTH IN-Hospital & PRE-hospital (on-scene) experience, let alone TRANSPORT, which brings up other logistics, requiring a MUCH greater level of expertise, autonomy, while shouldering unbelievable responsibility.  I juggled working 4 different jobs, gaining experience, skills & developing my instincts, in ANY critical care area of nursing, just to get the chance, to be included in that small circle of "the elite". This later prepared me for what was to come & gave me a humbling perspective. The more I learned, the more I realized, how much MORE I needed to learn! It was never ending! I felt I needed to gain further education and experience, in order to provide a better quality of care to my patients, when they needed me most, I figured they were already having, one of their worst days ever, the least I could do, was make it better for them, anyway I could.  The saying,"I serve so others might live", was always in the back of my mind, when times were difficult for me. The hospital is a controlled environment, ample medical supplies, equipment, gadgets & more staff. Outside the hospital, you only have what you brought with you, limited staff & it is ANYTHING BUT, a controlled environment and anything that could go wrong?..well it usually does!


Age Specific Experience

15 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education
  • Mobility Training

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Wound Care
  • Pain Management
  • IV Therapy/Injections
  • Diabetic Care
  • Central Line Care
  • Ostomy Care

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • On call (as needed)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 5/11/15

  • Open (all day, everyday)
Jump to Top
Kelly L.
Kelly L.
Ellery, IL 62833

of age


years experience

Home Care Rates $36 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now