Sittercity Sign up

Brandi S. Care Companion in Yarmouth, ME 04096

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

Yarmouth, ME

  • Age 53
  • 0 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within four months

Home Care Rates $15 per hour

Brandi’s Bio

I truly enjoying helping people in need and I have a particular affinity for seniors and children, most of my volunteer work has revolved around both populations.
I'm currently employed as a Graphic Designer for Maine Audubon. I'm also the mother of two daughters; my eldest is entering college in the fall, so I'm in need of a part-time position to help bring in a little extra money.

Volunteer Experience:
When I lived in Boston-area, I volunteered for a nonprofit group called Minuteman Senior Services that provided comfort care as well as other services to elderly shut-ins in the area. While with Minuteman, I visited with 3 different low income seniors who were apartment-bound and needed companionship, as well as assistance with grocery shopping, clean-up, etc. My experiences as a companion was tremendously rewarding for me.

Also in Boston, I volunteered as a playspace leader for Horizons for Homeless Children. I would travel to homeless shelters for women/children and spend a few hours a week playing with the kids there. One of the most difficult/most rewarding work I've ever done.

After moving to Maine when my children were young, I worked in the school system volunteering in classrooms etc., and with the PTO.

Personal Experience:
My mother contracted early-onset dementia when I was in my late-teens/early 20's. I witnessed first-hand the difficulties she faced -- both emotionally and with a system that didn't have proper support for her or my father.

My husband suffered a stroke 5 years. Though he has made great progress in his recovery, he still needs assistance with transportation, meal prep, dressing, etc., which I provide.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

0 years paid experience with:

  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Assistance
  • Assistance with Pets

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • On call (as needed)

Job Duration

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 9/9/19

  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings
Jump to Top
Brandi S.
Brandi S.
Yarmouth, ME 04096
53

years
of age

0

years experience

Home Care Rates $15 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now