JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Edwin D.

Care Companion in Astoria, NY 11105.

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

Astoria, NY

  • Age 23
  • 0 years paid experience
  • Male

Last signed in: Today

Home Care Rates $12 per hour

Edwin’s Bio

I am a college student at Florida Gulf Coast University and am majoring in Music Therapy. I currently work at Dillard's as a sales associate, but am hoping to pursue in a more personal work environment and for me to gain experiences for my degree.
My first experience was caring for my grandmother, who is now 83, for the past four years. She shattered her knee cap so I would help her move around the house, for instance to the bathroom, living room, and out of bed. I took her to physical therapy and her doctor appointments. My mother has 12-hour shifts for work, so I would make meals for my grandmother and be her companion for the time being. I would provide her medications and participate in recreational activities with her.
I have also volunteered at Hope Hospice assisting the nurses in feeding, grooming, communicating or doing whatever activities the patient wants to do. I very much enjoyed my previous experiences and would love to continue. They have so much to share and I love learning and assisting them.


Age Specific Experience

0 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Mobility Training

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Wound Care
  • Pain Management
  • Diabetic Care

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 4/24/16

  • Weekday Early Morning

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken

  • English
Jump to Top
Edwin D.
Edwin D.
Astoria, NY 11105

of age


years experience

Home Care Rates $12 per hour

  • First Aid Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now