JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Susanne S.

Care Companion in Sound Beach, NY 11789.

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

  • Military Spouse Branch of Service: Army

    Military Spouse Branch of Service: Army

Sound Beach, NY

  • Age 46
  • 5 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $15 per hour

Susanne’s Bio

In Europe the job description of an RN is different than in the US. We not only have the same education, knowledge, skills and responsibilities as RNs here, but also do the work of a CNA. After completing my nursing training which also included rotations in HHC and a residential setting with geriatric, DD and psychiatric population I worked mainly in LTC facilities. In the first one I was solely responsible for the entire floor of 20 plus residents w/ various care needs from a simple incontinence care of otherwise fully independent individuals to full care of end stage MS with daily mobilization and physical therapy. The other was similar as far as the care needs were concererned, but the physical setting was different. It was a building with individual apartments and a main floor with patient rooms, a kitchen and dining room  and a physical therapy room. The work was plenty and hard and there was never enough time so much so that we would spend the entire shift not even being able to drink a glass of water and doing our paperwork after hours without pay, but I loved it and miss it very much. I am a care taker with all my heart and honestly believe it is my calling. Ever since my daughter has outgrown the need of constant care and supervision i have been miserable and can't wait to do what I'm meant to do.
I've checked the "references only available upon request" b/c it was the only way I could submit my profile but I have never worked for any US employer and I don't think my european employers would remember specifics or even me after such a long time, even if you could speak the language and communicate with them. 


Age Specific Experience

5 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Mobility Training

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 6/9/14

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken

  • German
Jump to Top
Susanne S.
Susanne S.
Sound Beach, NY 11789

of age


years experience

Home Care Rates $15 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

  • Military

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now