Sittercity Sign up

Basic background check

Maura S. Care Companion in Alexandria, VA 22310

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

  • George Mason University

    George Mason University

Alexandria, VA

  • Age 25
  • 5 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Yesterday

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

Maura’s Bio

Hello!

A little about me: I live in the Kingstowne area and am willing to travel. I work as an Employment Specialist for individuals with Autism. I'm originally from Pennsylvania but moved to this area several years ago to get my degree in Social Work from George Mason University.

Experience: While at George Mason, I worked at Adult Protective Services helping the elderly population with cases of abuse and neglect. I also took extensive course work in gerontology during my time at George Mason. I volunteered in a nursing home while in high school and worked as an activities assistant leading everything from Sittercise to Bingo. I have a special place in my heart for companion care because I used to be a part time care taker for my great grandmother. I worked with her for 4 years to cook, clean, dispense medication, and assist with activities with daily living (bathing, toileting). My grandmother had Alzheimer's so this is something that I am very familiar with. I also worked in a group home for adults with disabilities where one of my individuals was diagnosed with dementia. While working at the group home, I was responsible for showering, toileting, managing special dietary needs, administering medication 3x a day, cooking, and providing recreational services. I have a pretty extensive background in companion care and would love to help you take care of your loved one. I am responsible, positive, and empathetic to those around me.

I also am a non-smoker, have reliable transportation, certified to dispense medication, CPR/First Aid certified, and have extensive crisis intervention training. Please reach out if you have any further questions!

Experience

Age Specific Experience

5 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education
  • Mobility Training

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Wound Care
  • Diabetic Care

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • On call (as needed)

Job Duration

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Available to start on 3/21/2018

Availability

My availability is valid through 6/20/18

  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken

  • English
Jump to Top
Maura S.
Maura S.
Alexandria, VA 22310
25

years
of age

5

years experience

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

  • Basic background check

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

  • George Mason University

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now