JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Joy H.

Care Companion in Arlington, VA 22204.

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Arlington, VA

  • Age 30
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within four months

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

Joy’s Bio

Hello! I have a BA in American Studies and have worked with children of varying developmental levels for over six years in the DC area through Medicaid Waiver programs, respite care, and as a nanny. I enjoyed the hands-on aspects of the work and eventually decided to pursue nursing. Last summer I left DC to attend an accelerated 15 month BSN program in TN. Graduation is this December and I plan to return to practice nursing in the DC area. I am interested in finding a family in need of part-time help/ companionship for their elderly loved one or special needs child in exchange for housing. I am in my late 20's and looking for options that involve a mother-in-law suite or something comparable. The family would need to be flexible with scheduling as my new nursing job hours will be full time and take priority. However, I will most likely begin working either a 3 or 4 day(or night)/week shift and will have availability to provide good care.

Some responsibilities I am interested in providing:
Bathing / Dressing
Companionship/Social Interaction
Meal Preparation/Cooking (I am a foodie and love to cook!)
Transportation Light Housekeeping Errands / Shopping
Home Care/ Help with Independent Living
Medication Management

I am interested in elderly care because my family and relatives cared for my grandparents in their home for years. I would love to provide support in a similar way! I will try to respond promptly despite my current crazy schedule. References available upon request. Due to the hectic nature of this program I have not updated my resume yet but am happy to provide it upon request.


Age Specific Experience

10 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education
  • Mobility Training

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Wound Care
  • Pain Management
  • Diabetic Care
  • Ostomy Care

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to work as a live in care provider

  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 2/7/15

  • Weekday Early Morning
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings
Jump to Top
Joy H.
Joy H.
Arlington, VA 22204

of age


years experience

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

  • Enhanced Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now