Sittercity Sign up
Amanda Jane S., Care Companion in Herndon, VA 20171 with 10 years paid experience

Amanda Jane S. Care Companion in Herndon, VA 20171

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Oak Hill, VA

  • Age 49
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $1 per hour
$1 per half day
$1 per full day
$1 per week
$1 per month

Amanda Jane’s Bio

I have spent time with the elderly in various capacities, including participation in hospice and volunteering at hospitals. I am a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) so I am able to provide trained, skilled care.

I have cared for a 94 year old woman with dementia, who was wheelchair bound but very active and attentive. She resided at a care home. We played games, distributed cookies to patients, sang, and shared stories. I visited with her for about 4 years.

I have also cared for an 84 year old, Alzheimer woman, who was living alone in her home. I was a companion to her, involving many activities such as running errands (bank, pharmacy, etc.), eating dinner out, going to the movies, spending time at the park, cooking meals, distributing medicines, grocery shopping, baking cookies and cupcakes, and more. I frequently stayed overnight, and provided bathing, dressing, and night time duties. Although she was not wheelchair bound, a wheelchair was used in some of our longer outings.

There are other wonderful people that I pay visits to, bringing them warm meals in the evening, or just sitting and enjoying one another’s company. It brings so much happiness to my life.

I have always had a tremendous amount of respect for the elderly. I feel fortunate to have found opportunities to share that respect with them.

Thank you,
Amanda

Experience

Age Specific Experience

10 years paid experience with:

  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education
  • Mobility Training

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Wound Care
  • Pain Management

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • On call (as needed)

Job Duration

  • Willing consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 7/8/19

  • Open (all day, everyday)
Jump to Top
Amanda Ja...
Amanda Jane S.
Oak Hill, VA 20171
49

years
of age

10

years experience

Home Care Rates $1 per hour
$1 per half day
$1 per full day
$1 per week
$1 per month

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now