Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Age 52
  • Nanny in Alabaster, AL 35007

Meet Karen

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have always loved children and watching their excitement as they explore and learn something new. I began babysitting at the age of 12 and was in high demand. I also worked as a counselor-in-training one summer at Camp Winnataska. I went to the University of Montevallo where I earned degrees in Early Childhood and Elementary Education. I taught 5-K for several years in a private church setting. 1st grade teachers stated that students coming to them from my class were very well prepared. I also taught 3rd grade and 5th grade and loved every minute of it. Because of my ability to work well with them, a number of emotionally conflicted students were mainstreamed into my class. I have 2 children of my own. I stopped teaching in early 2000's to better meet the needs of my family. I have been married for 30 years. My children are now Read more 27 and 24 and I have a beautiful 4 year old granddaughter that is my true source of joy. I was actively involved in the church for many years as a children's Sunday School teacher, a Wednesday night Awanas leader. What do I want you to take from all that? I am highly experienced, qualified and have a deep love for children.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 6/20/19

Ratings & reviews

Karen doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dwarfism
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Seizures
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Early Childhood & Elementary Education

Graduated University of Montevallo 1990

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Karen's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now