JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Gretchen S.

Nanny in Phoenix, AZ 85008.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Phoenix, AZ

  • Age 28
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within three months

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

Gretchen’s Bio

Children are my passion.  I have had several jobs such as managing a shoe store, or waitressing, but i always seem to return to child care.  I love children. I love to teach them, and watch them when they understand something, or use what you have taught them for the first time. I think children are like sponges and soak up everything that you give them, so I try to give all the knowledge I have, such as music and sign language, my other two passions.  I am very musically talented and always trying to learn something new, in every  aspect, but especially in music. I play 7 instruments, and sing, and have taught a number of kids how to play instruments. I graduated in 2010 with my degree as a licensed ASL sign language interpreter, and have now recently in 2012 graduated with my degree as a speech-language pathologist, and am working full-time at a school doing speech therapy. I took Spanish for 4 years in high school and can speak and understand it, and am able to teach it, I just wouldn't feel comfortable saying I am fluent, like I am in American sign language.  My father is a pastor and raised me to be a Christian, but I never push my beliefs or convictions on anyone.  I am very active and love to have fun. One of my main mottos at every child care place that I have worked is, "If the parents wanted their children to watch a movie or t.v., then they could've done that themselves and saved the money." I think children should be outside and active as much as possible. There are times for movies or t.v., but I am not one to sit them in front of the t.v. all day and say that I am caring for your child!


Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

6 to 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Central Auditory Processing Disorder
  • Delayed Speech
  • Developmental Language Disorder
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Dyslexia
  • Hearing Loss
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mental Illness
  • Pervasive Development Disorder
  • Premature Newborn
  • Rett Syndrome
  • Sensory Integration Disorder
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Applied Behavior Analysis
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Feeding Tube
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Sign Language
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 8/28/15

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Sign Language
  • Spanish

Additional Services:

  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies
  • Sign Language
  • Spanish


Jennifer G. is a reference for Gretchen S. Relationship: Family
Marsha S. is a reference for Gretchen S. Relationship: Family
Jump to Top
Gretchen S.
Gretchen S.
Phoenix, AZ 85008

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

  • Enhanced Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now