JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Melissa S.

Nanny in Carlsbad, CA 92011.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • University of California - Los Angeles

    University of California - Los Angeles

Carlsbad, CA

  • Age 45
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $16-$24 per hour

Melissa’s Bio

I am a stay at home Mom who began my education and career in Early Childhood Development as a teacher and nanny before finishing my degree and joining the corporate world. As most of you moms and dads know, its hard to leave your precious one all day long! So maybe my choice to stay home can make your day away from your little one easier.

Here is a little about me...

As I mentioned, I taught early childhood education for a few years before finishing my B.A. and entering the workforce full time. I have experience with newborns all the way up and I love to encourage reading, being outdoors, and helping little minds to grow. The first five years are the most important for brain development and every day is a wonder at that age.

I took a few years off from working when my son was born and eventually went back to work full time. My son is ten now and since he is my one and only, I just don't want to miss out on anymore time with him since he lives with his Dad part-time too.

He is in school for 6 hours during the day, so ideally I would like to find a family that is either looking for part-time help or who is open to having me watch their child in my home about 40 % of the time (which might be ideal for those of you trying to work from home : ) Being an only child, my son is mature, well mannered (I have to say!) and most importantly, a gentle, kind soul. I would like for him to be able to do homework and ride his bike after school in our neighborhood.

We have a non-smoking home, live in a gated community in coastal Carlsbad with a park fairly close by. We do have a lovey lab, so being comfortable with a dog in the home is important. I studied nutrition in college and so preparing healthy snacks and meals is not a problem. And of course, I have a clean driving record and insurance as well as a current TB, flu vaccine, and Trustline certification.

My situation might not be the best fit for everyone, but I know how hard it is to be away from your child for part or all of the day and I am committed to providing a caring, stable, and enriching environment for your precious little one.


Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)

4 to 5 years of infant care experience

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Has a child who needs to accompany care provider on the job

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 7/1/14

  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • English

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies


Julia L. is a reference for Melissa S. Relationship: Friend

Trustline is California's official background check for license-exempt child care providers (i.e. babysitters and nannies) and the only authorized screening program in California with access to fingerprint records at the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation and access to the California Child Abuse Central Index. The Trustline registry toll-free telephone number is 1-800-822-8490.

Pursuant to Section 1596.859 of the Health and Safety Code, parents have the right to receive information regarding any substantiated or inconclusive complaint about licensed child care providers. That information is public and can be acquired by visiting the California Department of Social Services' Internet Web site at "".

Jump to Top
Melissa S.
Melissa S.
Carlsbad, CA 92011

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $16-$24 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • University of California - Los Angeles

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now