JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Basic Background Check

Kristin S.

Nanny in Glendale, CA 91206.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Glendale, CA

  • Age 34
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: This week

Rating Average rating of 4 (2 reviews)

×

4 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  (1)
1 star  
5

Kristen is very sweet and did a great job with our kids, and they really liked her. We will definitely call her...

- Jennifer T.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

Kristin’s Bio

My most recent childcare experience comes from teaching English in Junior High and Elementary Schools in Japan for 1 1/2 years. I have worked with autistic children, and children with ADHD/ADD. Frequent babysitting work started as early as age 13 and continues today. I have held part-time nanny positions as well. I find children of all ages to be such a joy and would love to care for your children. I've worked as a professional housecleaner as well. I am organised, responsible and fun.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

1 year of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Mobility Challenges

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Bathing
  • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Repositioning
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 2/26/17

  • Weekday Early Morning (Before School)
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Reviews

4 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  (1)
1 star  
5

Kristen is very sweet and did a great job with our kids, and they really liked her. We will definitely call her again.

- Jennifer T.
2

After spending one day with our kids, Kristin quit. She stated that our 4-year old’s temper tantrums were caused by his imbalanced diet and the fact that he eats too much fruit, and therefore sugar. Like most moms, I try to do right by my kids, so I actually find this theory fascinating. But there was no time for that. Rather than communicate her ideas or make recommendations, she quit.

I am usually a stay-at-home mom and finally have a 6-week part-time contract job opportunity. This job means a lot to me professionally and our family economically. There was no 2-week notice, and now my job and my reputation are at stake because I have no childcare during the hours I’m supposed to be at work.

Discussion on food and sugar aside, I sense that Kristin did not absorb what I told her about our youngest’s emotions regarding the following: sadness over summer ending, missing his older brother who is back in school full-time, possible anxiety about starting his own part-day preschool the week before, absorbing the idea that mommy will be out of the home a few days each week, and last but certainly not least…a brand new nanny. He’s four. Change is hard, transition is hard, and I really don’t think she gets that.

When considering Kristin for a nanny position, you should anticipate that this might not be a person who can keep a professional commitment and that she appears to lack awareness of kids’ developmental needs, such as assistance with transitions, the importance of routines and helping little ones find tools to manage emotions.

- Brenna C.

Provider's Response

After interviewing with Brenna and meeting her children, I decided to take the job. I was surprised to be hit by her child during my first day. The child was in constant uncontrollable tantrums most of the day as well. While I hated having to quite, as the babysitter I have standards as well and I simply cannot place myself in an atmosphere where a child is physically abusive or emotionally imbalanced.

When Brenna asked for advice on this I gave her my professional opinion, as I am in the holistic health field, and I said I believe the imbalance is caused by his diet.

I did what any professional could be expected to do, I communicated with Brenna during the day of the difficulties and I stayed the entire day so that no one had to come home from work early.

I have always been open and honest and followed through with commitments on my jobs. In most jobs, the first 2 weeks are considered a trial period, this was a rare time where the job was not at all what was presented and I found out on the first day what I was to really experience. My heart goes out to Brenna and the family.

References

Deborah U. is a reference for Kristin S. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Kristin S.
Kristin S.
Glendale, CA 91206
34

years
of age

10

years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • Motor Vehicle Records Check

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now