JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Kristen B.

Nanny in Long Beach, CA 90804.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

Long Beach, CA

  • Age 28
  • 12 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $15-$25 per hour

Kristen’s Bio

I have over 14 years experience babysitting and 2 years of experience as a full time nanny. I believe every child is inquisitive and deserves to imagine and discover the world through play. I hold a California Multiple Subject Teaching Credential and a BA in Liberal Studies and highly value education and enriching activities. I am CPR and First Aid Certified and have federal background check clearance. I worked at Barton Elementary School in Long Beach as a student teacher and the Boys & Girls Club of Long Beach after school program as the education coordinator and teen coordinator. I have reliable transportation and open availability.

I completed my early education, high school and first two years of college in Illinois and then moved to California in May 2009 to complete my undergraduate degree and to attend the California State University System to earn my teaching credential. While living in Long Beach, I served as the full time nanny for 3-month-old twins and a 3-year-old. The 3-year-old is autistic and received in-home services through a regional center for early intervention for speech and behavioral therapy. As his primary caregiver, I worked first hand with the therapists, where I learned to apply ABA techniques to manage his behaviors. I feel confident in my ability to work effectively with autistic children. I moved back to Illinois in July 2014.

I am a very active person and enjoy doing outdoor activities such as sports, walks, going to park, or just playing outside. I firmly believe that children need time to develop their imaginations and that the best way to do this is through play. I work in accordance with individual family's dynamics, however, I prefer spending time outside and doing activities over watching TV or playing video games.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

12 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

6 to 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Delayed Speech
  • Down Syndrome
  • Learning Disabilities

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Applied Behavior Analysis
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Available to start on 5/19/2015

Availability

My availability is valid through 8/18/15

  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

References

Jeanna K. is a reference for Kristen B. Relationship: Former Employer
Michelle P. is a reference for Kristen B. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Kristen B.
Kristen B.
Long Beach, CA 90804
28

years
of age

12

years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$25 per hour

  • Enhanced Background Check

  • Motor Vehicle Records Check

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now