JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Monique A.

Nanny in Pomona, CA 91766.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Phillips Ranch, CA

  • Age 32
  • 12 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within three months

Preferred Rate $10-$20 per hour

Monique’s Bio

Hi! My name is Monique and thank you very much for stopping by my profile. I know how daunting and even scary it can be to look to strangers to help you care for your little ones, but I hope that reading this can help ease some of your worries and I that I can potentially be a great help to you and your family.
About Me:
 I'm an energetic, fun-loving girl that LOVES kids! At the playground, I am Miss Popularity with the Fisher-Price 3-10 set! Teenagers will talk to me and toddlers won't let me go a minute without my funny voice impressions. I am proficient in Dora the Explorer, Thomas the Train, Video Games and facebook/ Ipod culture.
I grew up in Los Angeles, CA in a multi-ethnic community so I speak both English and Spanish. I've been a resident of Cambridge for about 3 years, so I have a good idea of the ropes. I have a huge interest in world cultures and diversity so I am trying to teach myself French and German as a hobby ( An ambitious endeavor that is greatly helped by Rosetta Stone and a ton of dictionaries).  I am currently CPR and First Aid Certified (as of September 2010). 
I am a Senior at Emerson College in Downtown Boston working towards my bachelors in Writing, Literature, and Publishing. I have a huge interest in theater and the arts since its creative play for me. 
Why Would a College-Student Like Working With Kids?
Why not!  First off, I will say that I have a small disdain for the word "babysitting".  In my opinion, the last thing you should ever do with a child is "sit".  Children (even babies) were meant to be dynamic, explore, and do everything but stay still.  I don't believe parking kids in front of the TV all evening or the ever popular "circle of neglect"  is the proper way to watch someone's child. 
I started off my "childcare career" in 1997, when I used to work at my neighbor/extended family's in-home daycare everyday after school (This lasted until 2003).  When the rest of my peers were more interested in looking "cool" and trying their hardest to act beyond their age, I was more interested in getting "down and dirty" with the kids and exploring imagination along with my own. I appointed myself "director of activities" and made sure every game of tag, hide and go seek, arts and crafts was played fairly and justly. Some of the kids I used to watch back in those days (now they are teenagers) still come up to me when I visit and tell me how much they appreciated that I took my time to play with them. 
Since those days I've been a member of Big Sister's of America, several school and church youth groups, and do whatever I can to get involved with youth since I aspire to be a teacher post-graduation.
Paid Child-Care Work Experience (2003 - Present)
East Los Angeles College - I worked as a Remedial and College-level English tutor in the Disabled Student's center.  While I was here I worked with people who had handicaps such as blindness, delayed/slow learners, severe trauma, various emotional and psychological disorders. I worked with people ages 13 - 65.
Camp Ta-Ta-Pochon - I was a summer camp counselor responsible for an entire cabin of  girls from 12-16.  Some of the girls in this group had severe emotional disturbances.
California Psychcare - At this company I was a behavioral therapist for  Children with Autism and other cognitive learning disorders ranging from lower-functioning to higher functioning.  I specialized in Discrete Trial Training and Floortime therapy techniques. During my time here, I also worked with special-needs kids who had complications with cerebral palsy, spinal meningitis, and OCD.  I provided in-home services to children ranging from 18 months - 14 years old.
Children's Center of Brookline - Here I was an assistant pre-school teacher in the Toddler room.  As a pre-school / daycare I was responsible for preparing lunches, directing playtime activities, arts and crafts, etc.  Here I worked primarily with children 18 months to 5 years old.
Children's Hospital Boston - I did 3-month assignment covering for a staff-member on maternity leave at Children's Hospital in the Marketing department.
Lutheran Social Services of New England - I currently work as a residential counselor for a group foster home in Arlington MA.  It is a 6 bed house that provides services to unaccompanied immigrant minors (illegal immigrant children who are seeking legal asylum in the US).  At this particular house I am responsible for teenage boys between 14 and 17 who are ESL with their primary language being Spanish.  I've worked both daytime and overnight shifts and usually share responsibility with one more staff person.  It's not a secured-facility, but there is an emphasis on teaching independent living skills, fostering compliance and good relationships by emphasizing routines and positive reinforcement, and providing as close to a home environment as possible. 
In addition to this, I have babysat independently, including recently for a few families in the Cambridge area when the need arises.  The age groups of these children range from 3 - 13, references from these families are available upon request.
Over the years I've worked with children who have personalities ranging from extremely difficult to very affectionate and easy-going.  My approach is always patient and loving because I understand that at the end of the day they are children that will test boundaries and just need gentle re-direction because it is learning process.


Age Specific Experience

12 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

6 to 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Alzheimer's
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Delayed Speech
  • Developmental Language Disorder
  • Diabetes
  • Dyslexia
  • Hearing Loss
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mental Illness
  • Mobility Challenges
  • Pervasive Development Disorder
  • Sensory Integration Disorder
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Applied Behavior Analysis
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Blood Glucose Testing
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 10/30/14

  • Weekday Early Morning (Before School)
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Spanish

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies
  • Spanish

Trustline is California's official background check for license-exempt child care providers (i.e. babysitters and nannies) and the only authorized screening program in California with access to fingerprint records at the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation and access to the California Child Abuse Central Index. The Trustline registry toll-free telephone number is 1-800-822-8490.

Pursuant to Section 1596.859 of the Health and Safety Code, parents have the right to receive information regarding any substantiated or inconclusive complaint about licensed child care providers. That information is public and can be acquired by visiting the California Department of Social Services' Internet Web site at "".

Jump to Top
Monique A.
Monique A.
Phillips Ranch, CA 91766

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $10-$20 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now