Sittercity Sign up

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • 30 years paid experience
  • Age 49
  • Nanny in Denver, CO 80211

Meet Shawna

  • Early Childhood Special Education Certification
  • Comfortable with pets

I am Shawna Johnsbury, and I would like to work in your home, with your children and you. I have worked as a nanny and in a pre-school for my entire adult life. I know how important the first exposure to learning can be for both a child and the parents. Not only for that childs academic career, but also their whole lives can be set upon the foundation of their first learning years. It is because I feel that I have helped many children and their families learn to LOVE to learn that I am pursuing this opportunity. With kids, you can expect me to: Encourage, cherish and work to meet individual needs. Promote diversity, inclusivity. Facilitate & Encourage risk taking. Discuss, predict and review Allow natural consequences, including “failure,” to teach (where in line with the family’s philosophy)For example, “You might feel cold if you get wet.” If Read more the kid chooses to get wet, I will let that happen and help them maneuver the chills, all the while believing that giving them room to choose (and go through the consequences) teaches them to make better choices. Also, a kid might not experience cold the way I do; perhaps it really does feel good to them even if I am chilled! Use exploration and experimentation wherever possible. Facilitate conflict resolution. Give time/space for all parties to feel and articulate his/her experience (thoughts, feelings, concerns). Plan for future conflicts, to avoid or manage differently. LISTEN Ask a million questions! LISTEN for the kids’ answer. At times, try to answer them together! ~Why?~ Why not?~ Where?~Who?~ How?~ What if…..?~ Who else? ~ What other ways? Turn a question back to a kid….”Miss Shawna, why don’t we go to the park today?” “Well, kidd-o, why do you think we aren’t?” Again, listen to what they are thinking! For the families I work with, you can expect me to; Adhere to the family rules and contracts. Support parents with; punctuality, reliability, consistency. I will share observations, concerns, ideas. If requested, I will write observations/daily logs, attend community events, take classes, read books, assist with light meal prep, shopping, some home maintenance. I will put the needs of the kids first, while holding to the value that kids can and do contribute to a household and believe they can be happily incorporated into many of the tasks that are to be accomplished. I will hold their physical & emotional safety in high regard and will prioritize listening to them over loading the dishwasher; however, I will aim to teach that both can be done. Observe and share behaviors, opportunities for laughter, struggles and triumphs of each individual child. Ask relevant, concise questions to better serve the child and family. Attend community events, if invited. Parent teacher conferences, therapist visits, music classes…. anything the parent feels will help me see the child in a more inclusive light. Aim to return the home is as good or better shape than I arrived to it each day. Volunteer ideas about kids and home Suggest outings often! Zoo, parks, mountains, Children’s Museum, art museum, Cave of the Winds, Nature Preserve, throwing rocks in the river, chasing hot air balloons, and MANY others. Embrace messy play! Finger painting, mud, sticks, rocks….leading to science questions, curiosity, and critical thinking. I will not avoid an activity simply because it is MESSY. There is also great learning in cleaning up, in preparing and thinking ahead about how to manage a messy idea. Make a plan. Discuss when alterations are allowed and when they are not. (Ok to skip the zoo tomorrow, but don’t miss ballet lessons!) I have worked with kids my entire life because I truly, thoroughly enjoy it. What better way to make a living than earning a paycheck by playing! I have never tired of finger painting, jumping in leaf piles, throwing snowballs, or finding various characters/ shapes in the clouds. In addition to delightful play, I find that kids can teach us the most insightful things, when you listen to their stories, questions and what they are seeing. Furthermore, the expressions when that moment of discovery occurs-- be it that red and blue make purple, or that leaves grow back every spring, or that they are capable of building a house—their realizations are a magic that kids will let you share in! Kids bring a wonder, a perspective, indeed a magic that is not attainable anywhere else. These are some of the reasons I love to nanny! I am devoted to making each person entering a feel safe, seen, special and included. I am happy to provide references as requested. Please contact me with any other questions or ideas regarding my application. Thanks for your time and attention! Shawna Johnsbury

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Open (all day, everyday)
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 8/30/19

Ratings & reviews

Shawna doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$17-$30/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Diabetes
    • Fragile X Syndrome
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Feeding Tube
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Insulin Injections
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

Share Shawna's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now