JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Karen N. - East Lyme Nanny

Karen N. Nanny in East Lyme, CT 06333. Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

East Lyme, CT

  • Age 37
  • 16 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within six months

Preferred Rate $10-$20 per hour

Karen’s Bio

I have been working with children for about 16 years. Currently I work for Mohegan Elementary School. I am a Special Education Paraprofessional. I work from 8am-12pm. I worked at a daycare in Westbrook as a Preschool teacher and Assistant Director for 9 years. I worked at Pfizer kids in New London for 7 years as a Toddler Teacher and then worked as a nanny in Groton for 2 years. I left the Nanny position because the youngest child was starting school. I took care of 2 children and my responsibilities were to get the oldest ready for school, set up a weekly lesson plan for the youngest child, I made it educational but fun. I feel the best way to learn is through play and exploration. We read a lot of books together and sang a lot of songs, I also would set up play groups so she would socially interact with other children her age and get to know the children she would be eventually going to school with. I love children. I have a 15 year old son, a 4 month old son and an 11 year old step son who has been diagnosed with Asperger's . It takes a lot of patience, understanding and love to have a child with special needs. But to be honest all children should be treated with patience, understanding and love. I would like to have the opportunity for this position and I look forward to talking to you.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

16 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Age groups: Youth, Teen, Adult
Has own special needs child
Years of Experience: 4 to 5 years

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Delayed Speech
  • Developmental Language Disorder
  • Down Syndrome
  • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
  • Hearing Loss
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mental Illness
  • Mobility Challenges
  • Pervasive Development Disorder
  • Spinal Cord Injury
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Bathing
  • Blood Glucose Testing
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Insulin Injections
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Has a child who needs to accompany care provider on the job

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 12/2/13

  • Weekday Early Morning (Before School)
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training

References

Lisa K. is a reference for Karen N. Relationship: Former Employer
Jennifer K. is a reference for Karen N. Relationship: Co-worker
Jump to Top