JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Amanda R.

Nanny in Norwalk, CT 06854.

Looking for full-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Norwalk, CT

  • Age 26
  • 9 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within five months

Rating Average rating of 5 (1 review)


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  

Amanda has been working with us since February 2011 and my 6-month old baby loves her! Amanda is responsible, re...

- Mayte G.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $18-$25 per hour

Amanda’s Bio

Hello Everyone! I am a caregiver serving Fairfield County Connecticut. I have been caring for children for 9 years now in a variety of different settings. I have experience working with children as young as 6 weeks old up to 16 years of age. I spent 3 years working in a preschool in Durham, CT as an infant and toddler teacher and then another year as a preschool teaching assistant. Since then I have spent the last 5 years caring for children in their homes.
My passion for caring for and working with children was sparked when I first spent my weekends babysitting for children in my neighborhood as a teenager. I enjoyed then, and still do now, helping children to learn and explore the world around them. At young ages children learn through hands on experiences that we create for them in the environment around them. I love being able to make this happen. Whether is be through doing a craft, building a fort out of blankets or going on an adventure outside all of these little instances help children to learn and grow. This is what I enjoy spending my time doing!
Most recently, I have been caring for a family of four children for the past three years now. My responsibilities for this family include; transportation to & from extra curricular activities, playing games/doing crafts, light meal prep/laundry, helping with homework, supervising bath-time, reading books, etc. Since the youngest of their four children are now 5 years old, I have transitioned from being full-time to part time as they are now in Pre-school. This family leaves for the duration of the summer so, I will be seeking part-time employment during their leave.
I am a college graduate from the University of Connecticut with a Bachelor's Degree in Human Development and Family Studies. I have been able to take a great variety of course work which has helped me grow my knowledge base and abilities as a caregiver. Some of these courses include; child development, parenthood, early childhood disability and many others.
As a caregiver I feel my role is to help children learn and grow. I love to make learning fun for the children.


Age Specific Experience

9 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

6 to 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Cystic Fibrosis
  • Delayed Speech
  • Down Syndrome
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mobility Challenges

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Bed Baths
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Repositioning
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 9/1/15

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  

Amanda has been working with us since February 2011 and my 6-month old baby loves her! Amanda is responsible, resourceful and highly reliable. We are extremely happy with her work! She is great with infants, as I am sure she is with toddlers and older children.

- Mayte G.


Andrea L. is a reference for Amanda R. Relationship: Former Employer
Ramzey P. is a reference for Amanda R. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Amanda R.
Amanda R.
Norwalk, CT 06854

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $18-$25 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • Enhanced Background Check

  • Motor Vehicle Records Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now