JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • 40 years paid experience
  • Age 66
  • Nanny in Washington, DC 20036

Meet Jan R

  • Speaks French, Hebrew, Japanese, and Sign Language
  • Comfortable with pets

I have been working with children since I was about 13. I have been a swim instructor to 3 and 4 year olds, a babysitter with children as young as 3 days and as old as 14, I have worked as a nanny for the past 21 years, and am a qualified Montessori Preschool teacher as well as a qualified early childhood teacher. I have taken several CPR courses as well. I enjoy being outdoors and often take "my" kids on walks, to Parks and playgrounds, the zoo, library, museums, etc. I speak fluent English and French and can hold basic conversations in Sign and Japanese. I also speak a bit of Hebrew and phrases in several other languages. I enjoy reading and classical music, do not own or watch television, and like to do hands-on activities. I have also prepared baby food from fresh foods and will clean up Read more around the child, even doing his/her laundry if necessary.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 7/31/17

Ratings & reviews

Jan R doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$17-$25/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Dyslexia
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Visual Impairment
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

early childhood education; education of the Deaf; Montessori teaching

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • French
    • Hebrew
    • Japanese
    • Sign Language

Share Jan R's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now