JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Laura W. Nanny in Tallahassee, FL 32303.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

Tallahassee, FL

  • Age 33
  • 15 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within a month

Preferred Rate $15-$30 per hour

Laura’s Bio

A bit about myself: I'm 33 years old and I've returned to the US after living abroad in London for 4 years where I obtained my Masters degree. I'm currently pursuing my PhD in theatre studies at FSU.

During my masters program in London, I was a tutor/governess for a high profile family of 4 children (aged 5, 9, 13 and 14 at the start of my time with them). I was with this family for 4 years.

I was raised with the perfect blend of creativity and academia, and I feel that I am able to offer that in my work with kids. Because of my performing arts background, I'm very open and imaginative. Kids love me and I love kids!

My rigorous academic background at prestigious universities has afforded me both a great education and a strong foundation of discipline. I believe this combination makes me a unique candidate. As a graduate teaching assistant at FSU, I'm responsible for teaching the intro course for the incoming freshman theatre majors. I also currently teach musical theatre classes and private voice lessons to both children with special needs and neuronormative kids at Making Light Productions here in Tallahassee.

During undergrad at NYU, I considered myself a student leader. I served as a resident assistant, which means I was in charge of my floor of residents in my dorm. I assisted them when they had problems, questions, concerns, etc. and also helped create a supportive, active, safe, and social hall community.

Aside from my performing arts training, I also have a degree in journalism and am a published writer, which has come in handy when helping students with homework and essays!

I have references both here and in the UK if necessary. If you have any more questions about me or my background, I look forward to hearing from you!

Experience

Age Specific Experience

15 years of paid child care experience with:

  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Delayed Speech
  • Developmental Language Disorder
  • Dyslexia
  • Learning Disabilities

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 8/7/18

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

References

Reem M. is a reference for Laura W. Relationship: Former Employer
Mandi B. is a reference for Laura W. Relationship: Client
Jump to Top
Laura W.
Laura W.
Tallahassee, FL 32303
33

years
of age

15

years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$30 per hour

  • First Aid Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now