Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 14 years paid experience
  • Age 28
  • Nanny in Des Moines, IA 50314

Meet Alexandra

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Childcare is one of my oldest and dearest passions. I began babysitting at the age of 11, taking my first child care and first aid certifications shortly after. I continued working in child care through middle school, high school, and college. I now have a BS in Psychology with a focus on counseling and child development. My last job was with Youth and Shelter Service's Kids Club program where I was regularly taught and cared for 15+ children aged 5-12. I am currently a DHS-certified child care provider. I have up-to-date certifications in First Aid, CPR, Universal Precautions, and Essentials Child Care Preservice, and can provide certificates upon request. I have experience caring for children aged 0.5-12 years, and limited experience with children who have special needs (Down syndrome, autism, ADHD, and behavior disorders). I have led outings, planned and taught lessons, and performed housekeeping duties alongside childcare services. I Read more pride myself in using research-based techniques alongside compassionate attention to the unique needs of each child to create a dynamic, supportive, and fun care experience for everyone.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 1/31/18

Ratings & reviews

Alexandra doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$12-$20/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Down Syndrome
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene

Education

Psychology BS

Graduated Iowa State University 2017

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Alexandra's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now