JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Melissa M.

Nanny in Johnston, IA 50131.

Looking for full-time work as a nanny.

Johnston, IA

  • Age 44
  • 9 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $30-$40 per hour

Melissa’s Bio

I grew up in Urbandale, Iowa and have lived in Knoxville, TN, Boston, MA Atlanta, GA, and Lawrence, KS for both work and graduate school. I have a master's degree, a Ph.D. in Health Education to complete, and eight year of undergraduate teaching at the college level.

I have many years of experience caring for children as a full-time, part-time, live-in and live-out nanny, summer and after-school nanny, and nanny sitter. I also have years of experience as personal assistant, household manager, tutor, and house/pet-sitter. I have experience with newborns and toddlers through school-aged children. I am an aunt to five children (ages 6, 7, 10, 11, & 11), whom I care for and I grew up with dogs in the family home.

I enjoy being active with the children I care for and engaging in activities that interest them. I consider myself to be patient, honest, kind-hearted, fair and a great role model. I am also mature, punctual, reliable and very organized.

I currently work four days a week and a personal/household assistant for a retired family physician and family business owner with multiple sclerosis. In addition, I nanny for a trauma surgeon with two boys (7 and 12) and tutor, nanny sit and house/pet sit for several local families.

I am interested in out-of-state positions and am willing to re-locate. If you are interested in learning about my relevant qualifications in more detail, I would be happy to email you my resume. Additionally, I can provide references and am willing to complete any necessary background/driving checks.


Age Specific Experience

9 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

2 to 3 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 8/31/15

  • Weekday Early Morning (Before School)
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • English

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
Jump to Top
Melissa M.
Melissa M.
Johnston, IA 50131

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $30-$40 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now