Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 2 years paid experience
  • Nanny in Champaign, IL 61820

Meet Debrinah

  • Certified Nursing Assistant
  • Speaks English
  • Has a car

My name is Debrinah. I'm 32 and from Chicago. I was a peer mediator in jr high and youth Sunday school teacher for two yrs. Following graduation I worked the summer in Virginia babysitting my three year old niece before returning back for school. I spent full days with her, learning her individual needs and interests. I taught her numbers, colors, days of the week, how to share and basic manners in the short period. The same year my second niece was born. I spent the first year of her life as her secondary mom until that brother moved away. I went into health care full time. My first job was live-in (4 days on, 3 days off). The same brother was offered a university position in Pennsylvania in 2012. He and his wife now had a second daughter who was two. I was able to relocate for familial support Read more and found myself again as the second mom to my two nieces. I continued work in health care, offering assistance as much as possible. In 2016 they grew from a family of four to seven overnight. Their adoption for brother/siblings went through the same month she gave birth to a baby boy. I adjusted my work schedule to accommodate their needs, including dropping them off and picking them up from school, helping with homework, housework, laundry, preparing meals and driving them to their sports, lessons and hobbies. In 2017 she went for a fourth degree and I injured myself at work that April while lifting a patient and was unable to work on the floor. I transferred to the medical records department. It didn't fulfill me. I spent my time off taking care of their five children. I resigned in February 2018 and became an around the clock nanny, while my brother worked and also went back to school. In September of 2019 I finally had the surgery I needed following my hip injury from 2017. I spent a year and a half focusing on my physical therapy and recovery. The surgeon told me I couldn't return to be a Nurse's Aide, nor further my career in nursing. I couldn't do a lot of heavy lifting anymore, nor run on my feet for long hours like I was used to. After searching for what my next career would be, I realized I could utilize this experience and find reward looking after one or two small children professionally, or older children who won't require to be lifted. I can tolerate lifting up to 30 or 40 pounds and can stand and walk on my feet up to four hours a day w/o pain. I am moving back to Illinois to be closer to my parents. Will email full professional resume upon request.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 07/26/2021

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.



  • Generally available mornings and afternoons


  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Available to start on 6/25/2021
  • My availability is valid through 9/23/21

Ratings & reviews

Debrinah doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)


Liberal Arts

Attended Prairie State College

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Debrinah's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now