Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Age 26
  • Nanny in Chicago, IL 60622

Meet Laura

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I'm Laura Spooner, I would describe myself as an energetic, caring and down to earth young woman. I am a graduate student at UIC studying Social Work. I am very easy to talk to, for both children and adults. I babysat three young children for 3 years, ranging from 1 to 6 years of age. One of the children had Autism, which I am very familiar with. I worked for the Special Olympics for a year, helping preschool children, especially those with Autism. For two years I did school pick up and drop off for two kids who were 2 and 6 when I started. Last summer I worked full time with a 7-yead old girl. Besides that I worked two years for a family with a 1.5 year old and then I spent a few months working with a two year old and her 4 month old brother, but Read more the parents needed someone with full time availability. I am currently watching an 22 month old on Tuesday afternoons. I love cooking, so I do not mind preparing meals, and can also provide light housework help.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification



  • Generally available mornings, evenings, late nights and weekends


  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 5/1/18

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Kelly K.


Laura is professional, responsible, and very reliable. We have worked with her for over a year and never had any problems! She is great with our two year old son and our dog as well. Highly recommend.


Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$25/hr for the first child, $4 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Autism
    • Down Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities


Social Work

University of Illinois at Chicago 2016


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Laura's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now