Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 57
  • Nanny in Chicago, IL 60641

Meet Ellen

  • Licensed Practical Nurse
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am a retired hospice nurse (LPN) who spent 3+ years transitioning to nannying and then 7 years as a daycare owner. I have a current extensive fingerprint background check which encompasses city, county, state and federal clearances. Also CPR+First Aid certifications. I love crafts, singing and dress up/pretend play and reading aloud!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 8/12/17

Ratings & reviews

4.8 4.8 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

4

1

0

0

0

Denise S.

3/20/2012

I almost don't want to review the good sitters/nannies because it decreases your chances of getting them in the future. Alas, I know that it is the right thing to do... Ellen is very experienced in caring for children. Given that she runs her own daycare, I felt completely confident that she could care for my 3 toddler boys. She actually helped us when our back-up for our FT nanny's vacation fell through at the last minute. My guys took to Ellen right away. My oldest decided that he would call her Eleanor instead of Ellen. While we corrected him several times, Ellen did not take offense when he continued to call her by a different name. The 2 nights when I arrived home, she and the guys were all in good spirits. In addition to Ellen taking over in the absence of our regular nanny, she also helped right after we moved into our home the week prior. Given her background, she made some recommendations on kid-proofing different areas of our home. She also came over to meet our family a few days before she watched the guys. In doing so, the guys became familiar with her and I had the opportunity to get to know her a little more. I appreciated her taking the time to do so. We would definitely recommend Ellen and will call her for future opportunities.

Julia L.

4/15/2011

When I met/interviewed with Ellen, I felt so at ease and comfortable with her. She was very knowledgable and VERY good with my daughter. I had her come babysit to get to meet the kids (my twins were napping when we first met) and all three of my children took to her right away. She is very attentive and very good with children. She is a one of the good ones!

Kelly S.

3/21/2011

Ellen was a pleasure to have! She recently babysat for my 4 year old twins for the first time and I would have her back anytime. She immediately engaged them in activities and set boundaries like a pro! Her experience showed in her ease in interacting with my kids and I would recommend her without hesitation.

Paula H.

12/15/2010

Ellen is great! I hired Ellen last minute to fill in for my 2-year-old twins' full time nanny. Ellen asked great questions about the kids temperments and normal routines. She made sure the kids and I were comfortable before I left the house. She's definitely a calming presence. Kids had a great time and I did not worry!

Corinne A.

12/7/2010

I met with Ellen and found her to be a delight. I especially liked that she not only had great experience in nursing, but she also is extremely creative. She exudes a warm, calm personality that immediately puts you at ease. At the same time, I could tell that she was not the type to get flustered by my toddler daughter's tantrums. I would not hesitate in hiring her to watch over my kids.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$1-$1/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Diabetes
    • Epilepsy
    • Hearing Loss
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Premature Newborn
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Feeding Tube
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Repositioning
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Ellen's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now