JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Katie O. Nanny in Chicago, IL 60630.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Chicago, IL

  • Age 33
  • 13 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within four months

Preferred Rate $12-$40 per hour

Katie’s Bio

I am a licensed K-12 teacher with over 13 years of combined teaching and nanny experience who has decided to take leave from teaching full-time to stay at home with my kids. I have a 3 year old daughter and a 1.5 year old son. I currently work part-time for a suburban school district. I am also CPR and first aid certified.

Why choose me over all the other sitters? I enjoy creating fun traditions with the kids I babysit such as bringing a new book or board game (my favorite) to share for our own date nights. When you get home, the kids will have picked up their toys and I will have cleaned up after dinner so you can sit back and relax.

Right now, I am looking for a few new families for date nights. I am also open to drop off in my home during the week.

I have experience with various special needs and developmental delays, breastfed babies, feeding tube, and administering injections.
Having the right child care provider is very important.  When working for a family, I make the kids my first priority. When I am not with the kids, I often find myself looking for books at the library or activities at a museum that they would enjoy. I grow to love the kids and cant wait to see them every day. I love watching them grow and learn. It is a great feeling knowing that I can help positively influence someone's development.   
Apart from that, I love the job. Everyday as a nanny is different and exciting. I like knowing that I can be silly and dance around, play at the park or with play doh. Unlike most other jobs, it is fairly flexible where I can go on trips to a museum or the park or simply be able to take a walk and stop to observe the flowers. The best part of all the adventures and excursions is how excited kids get about the simple things we forget about as adults.
Given that, I also believe structure, routine, and discipline are all important factors in a child’s development.  I have various childcare experience. I have cared for infants, kids, and pre-teens. I have tutoring and teaching experience (I am a certified teacher). I have also worked in a Montessori environment.  I love helping people grow and I would love to become part of your family. I am a very honest and easy-going person. I am organized, creative, resourceful, and enthusiastic.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

13 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Delayed Speech
  • Developmental Language Disorder
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Dyslexia
  • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
  • Hearing Loss
  • Juvenile Diabetes
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mobility Challenges
  • Premature Newborn
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Blood Glucose Testing
  • Feeding Tube
  • Injection Assistance
  • Insulin Injections
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Sign Language
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Has a child who needs to accompany care provider on the job

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 11/25/15

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Polish
  • Sign Language

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies
Jump to Top
Katie O.
Katie O.
Chicago, IL 60630
33

years
of age

13

years experience

Preferred Rate $12-$40 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • Enhanced Background Check

  • Motor Vehicle Records Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now