JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Kristen M.

Nanny in Chicago, IL 60640.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Chicago, IL

  • Age 31
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Rating Average rating of 5 (2 reviews)

×

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (2)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

Kristen was great with my infant daughter, she was super interactive with her and always attempted to maintain ...

- Jill M.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

Kristen’s Bio

WORK EXPERIENCE
Nanny for Kaplan family, Chicago, IL; June 2012 - April 2013
Cared for four-month-old son 50 hours a week.
 
Nanny for Hearsey family, London, UK; October 2011 - May 2012
Cared for two-year-old and one-year-old daughters, and three-month-old son 24 hours a week.
 
Nanny for Steck family, Chicago, IL; January 2011 - July 2011
Cared for four-month-old son full time during mother's school semester.
 
Nanny for Wigley family, Chicago, IL; March 2009 - August 2011
Started at 25 hours a week with one-year-old daughter, went full time in March 2010 once son was born. Once daughter started school in January 2011, babysat regularly on Saturday nights.
 
 Nanny for Johnson family, Chicago, IL; June 2008 - March 2010
 Responsible for looking after four-month-old son 30 hours a week.
 
Nanny share for Saad and Pisoni families, Holly, MI; January 2005 - July 2007
Cared for four-year-old and five-year-old daughters; and six-year-old daughter, and five-year-old and eight year-old sons, respectively. Worked before and after school day until dinnertime during school year, and babysat occasional Saturday nights. Worked full time (40+ hours a week) once children were on summer break.
 
 
KEY SKILLS AND COMPETENCIES
Responsible for the supervision, safety, well-being, and constant care of children.
Implementing daily routines, as well as planning and organizing fun, age-related activities.
Playing with the children and taking them to the park, zoo, library, museums, story times, etc.
Preparing nutritious meals and snacks, including making organic baby food.
Reading to and with the children.
Bathing children, as well as changing diapers and treating related skin conditions.
Experience in assisting first time mothers on maternity leave and breastfeeding help, as well as sleep training, potty training, and baby sign language.
General housekeeping duties, including children's laundry, as well as tidying bedrooms and play areas. 
Bringing the children to and from school or after-school activities.
Homework help.
Running family errands, ie: grocery shopping, pharmacy and dry cleaning pick-ups.
CPR and first aid certified.
 
 
VOLUNTEER EXPERIENCE
HAVEN (domestic violence shelter), Pontiac, MI; September 2006 - June 2007
Youth room volunteer: supervised the shelter's youth room, engaged them in activites; as well as helped in planning and implementing special activities or outings for the children.
 
Genesys Health System , Grand Blanc, MI; November 2003 - February 2004
Hospital volunteer: giving newborns hearing tests.
 
Holly Elementary School , Holly, MI; August 2002 - June 2003
Student tutor: helped first and second grade children in math and reading.
 
On-Stage Dance School , Holly, MI; 2000 - 2004
Assistant teacher: taught ballet and tap dance classes to children ages 4-12.
 
 
ACADEMIC QUALIFICATIONS
August 2007 - May 2009        The Chicago School of Professional Psychology, Chicago, IL
                                                 MA Clinical Counseling
                                                 Graduating GPA: 3.4
 
August 2003 - June 2007        Oakland University, Rochester, MI
                                                 BA Psychology
                                                 Sociology and Women's Studies double minor
                                                 Graduating GPA: 3.6

Experience

Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Autism
  • Visual Impairment

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 4/15/15

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • French

Additional Services:

  • Potty Training
  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help

Reviews

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (2)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

Although we opted to go with another candidate for our nanny-share position, we found Kristen to be INCREDIBLY qualified, confident and experienced with care of infant multiples. She will be a great fit for a family or a nanny-share position!

- Nora M.
5

Kristen was great with my infant daughter, she was super interactive with her and always attempted to maintain our routine in my absence. She was always on time, even at a ridiculously early hour that I needed her to arrive. If we hadn't moved away, we would still use Kristen, our baby loved her and so did we!

- Jill M.

References

Kate W. is a reference for Kristen M.
Patrick A. is a reference for Kristen M.
Jump to Top
Kristen M.
Kristen M.
Chicago, IL 60640
31

years
of age

10

years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

  • Enhanced Background Check

  • Motor Vehicle Records Check

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now