JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Ashley S.

Nanny in Chicago, IL 60657.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Chicago, IL

  • Age 30
  • 7 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within five months

Rating Average rating of 5 (1 review)

×

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

We were lucky enough to have Ashley Smelser as a nanny for over two years (June 2012 - August 2012) until we mov...

- Melissa G.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $13-$17 per hour

Ashley’s Bio

I have been a nanny for the past seven years, for three different families on a full time basis. I have maintained contact with all families and continue to be in their children's lives.

I am also currently a full time student at the University of Illinois at Chicago and I a studying Urban Education.

I have an Associates Degree from Harold Washington

As well as volunteer experience in youth development with the community based organization Young Chicago Authors

Being a nanny to me is not just a job but a strong passion I have developed over the years with working with kids.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

7 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

6 to 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Diabetes
  • Epilepsy

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 9/5/15

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Reviews

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

We were lucky enough to have Ashley Smelser as a nanny for over two years (June 2012 - August 2012) until we moved from Chicago to Colorado. Ashley was referred to us by a close friend when her previous family also relocated away from Chicago. Ashley started with us when our daughter was four months old and was with us when our son was born in 2012. Ashley was very easy to employ. She enforced our rules, was prompt, and kept our children's things tidy and clean. We always found Ashley to be honest and with strong character integrity. She was flexible and willing to help beyond the norm such as accompanying us to Colorado during the move.

She always took excellent care of our children and loved them as if they were her own. Ashley has a background in early childhood education and leveraged that to suggest age appropriate activities and toys of our children. She loved getting out of the house with them and always wanted to take them to activities, on walks, to the park, and on play dates. As our daughter grew into a toddler, we witnessed the bond they shared. They were true companions; each morning our daughter would run to welcome her with pure delight. We loved having Ashley as part of our family and know others will feel the same.

- Melissa G.

References

Lisa S. is a reference for Ashley S. Relationship: Former Employer
Melissa G. is a reference for Ashley S. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Ashley S.
Ashley S.
Chicago, IL 60657
30

years
of age

7

years experience

Preferred Rate $13-$17 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now