JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sooz M.

Nanny in Chicago, IL 60640.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Chicago, IL

  • Age 35
  • 20 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $20-$25 per hour

Sooz’s Bio

I have been working with children for over twenty years in varying capacities including babysitting, nannying, partnering with classroom teachers to integrate arts and academics, and teaching after school programs. I have experience working with all ages from newborn to high school including several sets of twins, responsibilities from diaper changing to potty training, preparing healthy meals and snacks, craft projects, homework help, outdoor adventures, bedtime routines, and bathtime. I am a certified children's yoga instructor with a double degree in Photography and Fiction Writing. I have taught photography, yoga, writing, book-making, science, superheroes, mask-making, and more. I am patient while firm and responsible while creative.
My favorite thing about working with children is their refreshing curiosity and honesty and the way they remind me to stay in the moment. It's important to me to slow down enough to be able to really connect with them and give them the individual attention and respect they deserve.
I have spent the last several years working extensively in Chicago Public Schools and while I am incredibly passionate about the work, I've found it so busy that it didn't allow me to connect with the children I was working with as meaningfully as I'd like. I'm looking to transition now to working closely with a family where I can be a genuine part of the children's development and growth.
I look forward to meeting your family!


Age Specific Experience

20 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

6 to 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Central Auditory Processing Disorder
  • Delayed Speech
  • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
  • Hearing Loss
  • Juvenile Diabetes
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mental Illness

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Bathing
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 3/31/16

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling


Jill M. is a reference for Sooz M. Relationship: Client
Amy J. is a reference for Sooz M. Relationship: Client
Jump to Top
Sooz M.
Sooz M.
Chicago, IL 60640

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $20-$25 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now