JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Ashley S.

Nanny in Downers Grove, IL 60516.

Looking for full-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Downers Grove, IL

  • Age 32
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $450-$700 per week

Ashley’s Bio

Hi my name is Ashley and I'm a Certified Therapeutic Recreation Specialist (CTRS) which means I love all children of all abilities and know how to adapt any situation to make it a success. I have a colorful history working with children of all ages. In 2010 I returned from traveling around the world for two years, volunteering for months at a time with children the entire way in Peru, Costa Rica, and Uganda. I also spent a year teaching English to young children in Korea. Upon my return, I worked full time for the Northbrook Park District as a Supervisor of their 85 student preschool and 150 student Kindergarten enrichment program. After the birth of my daughter in August 2012, I returned to work shortly only to find myself wanting to spend my time with her. From April 2013 until present day I have been a nanny for a wonderful family in Arlington Heights, watching their son who is 10 weeks younger than my daughter. Seeing them interact and play together daily confirmed my belief of early socialization in children. I worked full time 45 hours/week typically from 6:45 a.m. - 6 p.m. I love being creative with the daily schedule in terms of activities but still sticking to a routine for naps, meals, etc. I believe that children need to be outside, active, and eating healthy food to be at their best. I encourage parallel play as well as actively engaging the children in an activity but then slowly letting them take charge. I am a very active, fit person myself so I love to be physical with the kids, running around, crawling on the floor and being silly. I also love to plan art, sensory or quiet time activities that will engage the children in age appropriate skills. My daughter is very social and loves to play with other children. Through bringing her to work she has learned to share, wait her turn and show affection towards other children at a very early age. I know that my current family agrees having two children around the same age together makes a large, positive impact.

My family just relocated to Downers Grove and had a new addition to our family. My 2.5 year old daughter would love another playmate to come to our home on a full time or almost full time basis. I can also provide organic homemade meals in addition to an hourly rate.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

4 to 5 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Delayed Speech
  • Developmental Language Disorder
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Epilepsy
  • Hearing Loss
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mental Illness
  • Mobility Challenges
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Muscular Dystrophy
  • Pervasive Development Disorder
  • Seizures
  • Sensory Integration Disorder
  • Tourette Syndrome
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Applied Behavior Analysis
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Bed Baths
  • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
  • Blood Glucose Testing
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Feeding Tube
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Injection Assistance
  • Insulin Injections
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Sign Language
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Has a child who needs to accompany care provider on the job

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 2/14/15

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

References

Elsa F. is a reference for Ashley S. Relationship: Former Employer
Allison R. is a reference for Ashley S. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Ashley S.
Ashley S.
Downers Grove, IL 60516
32

years
of age

10

years experience

Preferred Rate $450-$700 per week

  • Basic Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now