JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Rachel S. Nanny in Highland Park, IL 60035.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Highland Park, IL

  • Age 33
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $11-$15 per hour

Rachel’s Bio

        My name is Rachel Stine, and I am interested in this job.  I am a, non-smoking, CPR certified, 28-year-old sitter, with more than ten years of experience in childcare. I have a BA in creative writing, and currently looking into childcare .  The following paragraphs will describe my experience as a babysitter, nanny, and mother’s helper.  I’ve also worked as a dog walker/ pet sitter, so I am good with pets if you have them.   
I started off babysitting for my little brother, when I was eleven and he was seven.  Starting in 1998, I started to work for several of the families in my neighborhood, usually on Saturday nights.
From 1999 through 2003, I helped out my parents by babysitting the sons of a family friend. The boys are named Jack and David.  Jack is now 21 and David is elven.  When Jack was little, I babysat for him regularly, mostly during the summer, evenings, etc. They lived close by and Jack often spent the weekend at my parent’s house. I would take care of Jack at our house or theirs, and sometimes drove him and my younger brother (they are three years apart but were good friends growing up) around to extracurricular activities.  I also helped him with schoolwork, as he was homeschooled. David was born in 2002, and I helped out with him whenever necessary.  When Jack was eleven and David was one, their parents moved out of the state but they sometimes came back to Chicago for visits (and we would visit them as well) and so I have occasionally had the chance to take care of them in recent years as well. 
In the summer of 2003 I was a full time nanny for a family with a girl and a boy (ages seven and nine) in Highland Park IL. Unfortunately, I did not think to write down their names or contact information at the time.  So, I cannot use them as references.  However, I think I met them through sittercity as well.  For several weeks, I arrived at their house first thing in the morning (well, 8:00) just as they were finishing breakfast.  I babysat/ played with the kids in their home, took them for bike and scooter rides, to the pool, and did art projects with them.
Around this same period of time (from 2004 through 2009), I also babysat for a little girl named Jennie, on and off on Saturday nights. This family is one of my references.  Although, I should mention that they are my (somewhat distant) cousins.
In the spring/ summer of 2008 I worked for a woman I met through, Violet Flemenbaum, username purple717, watching her three children Gabe (six at the time), Natalie (then three and a half) and Danni (18 months at the time) from early April through September 3rd 2008, when I took the handful of in person grad school courses.  They were all easygoing children, although Gabriel needed a little extra attention.  He has Asperger’s and he is also sometimes hyperactive.  At the time he was taking medication for ADHD.
Because of his special needs, he required a caretaker who can be patient and understanding, and who will help him to make good choices and to funnel his excess energy into fun activities instead of some of the negative behaviors he (like some boys) sometimes feels compelled to engage in, like running into people and things, smashing block towers, throwing objects, or hitting his sisters.  He will also sometimes try to eat or chew on potentially poisonous, sharp, and other dangerous objects.        
I used to list Violet as a phone reference because she provides a great one but she tends to have trouble getting back to people quickly.  Now I use the glowing letter of recommendation that Violet wrote for me in 2008, and I would be more than happy to email you a copy of this letter.  
Over the past several years, I have met half a dozen families through this site as well, they all needed a single day/ emergency (once due to a blizzard and school cancelations, twice for doctor’s appointments, and a few times for last minute things) sitter and they have all worked out very well.
I did respite care for a family in Mount Prospect from June 2009 to January 2010.  Their youngest daughter Kiki was nine and she has Cerebral Palsy.  My job was to help out with her while Rita (the mother) and Norm (her father) were given some time to relax, take a nap, do chores, or whatever else needs to be done.  Unfortunately, Kiki’s health problems became more serious and her parents decided to stop having a respite care worker come over. She passed away a year later.  
Last but not least, I have (and currently am) worked for a family in Highland Park.  I met them through Sittercity as well.  Peter and Andrea have a daughter who is now three-years-old, but she was 15 months when I started to work for them in September of 2011.  They are a wonderful family, and I come over a few afternoons a week and most Saturday nights to take care of their daughter Naiya, while her parents are out of the house.  I have and continue to help them in potty training her, help with meals, get her up from her nap, take her outside, and play inside.  I also work as a house-sitter/ pet-sitter for this family whenever they go out of town.  They have a cat and two dogs.  I have a lot of experience with animals (going back even further than my experience with childcare as I had dogs of my own growing up), including taking them for walks, cleaning litter boxes, feeding animals, and giving them medication.
 I have my own car, with insurance. I also took psychology courses in college (including but not limited to developmental/ child psychology) and I have done a lot of volunteer work at Cowboy Dreams of Illinois, where we used to do therapeutic horseback riding for kids with different types of disabilities.  I was CPR certified in high school and recently recertified in adult and infant CPR as well as first aid.  I love kids, and prefer to spend most of my babysitting time playing outdoors, or doing arts crafts, playing board and/ or card games, play with action figures, dress up, cars, dolls, and make believe.                             
I am currently working for a family in Highland Park, as I mentioned before but I only sit for them on Tuesday and Friday late afternoons (from 4:30-6:30) and Saturday nights (from 8:30 PM on).  Other than that I am available at any time.
My phone number is 847-207-7275  
My references are:  
1. Andrea Wintroub, the woman I am currently working for in Highland Park.  She and her husband Peter are both wonderful people and they have a fantastic daughter Naiya.  I have been their sitter since September of 2011.  Their home phone number is (847) 607-8811, and Andrea’s cellphone is (310) 739-5476. 
2. Janet and Larry Lederman (847) 831-5721: These are Jenny’s (see above) parents and I babysat for them on most Saturday nights from late 2005 to 2009.    
3. Also, as I said earlier, I have a fantastic letter written by Violet Flemenbaum, but it is in the format of a photograph not a MS word document.  I can email the letter to you or I can print a copy and bring it with on job interviews.
4.  Joshua Wish (760) 810-2635: I have babysat for his son David (see above) several times, even after his family (close friends of my family) moved to California.  I also used to babysit his stepson (now 20) from the time he was 7 until he was 11, right around the time they moved.
Thank you for your consideration,
Rachel Stine


Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Autism
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Epilepsy
  • Hearing Loss
  • Visual Impairment

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 7/27/16

  • Weekday Early Morning (Before School)
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime

Skills & Abilities

Additional Services:

  • Potty Training
  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help


Andrea W. is a reference for Rachel S.
Andrea W. is a reference for Rachel S.
Jump to Top
Rachel S.
Rachel S.
Highland Park, IL 60035

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $11-$15 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now