Sittercity Sign up

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • 3 years paid experience
  • Age 22
  • Nanny in Wilmette, IL 60091

Meet Amelia

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am a junior studying child development and psychology at the University of Illinois. I'm studying to become a Child Life Specialist, which is someone who works to reduce the fear/anxiety that pediatric patients face when going through medical treatment/hospitalization. I genuinely just love children (I want 7 of my own in the future!). I've worked with pediatric patients (newborns to age 17) and their families at Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago, Carle Hospital (the hospital on my college campus) and North Shore Skokie Hospital. I also am completing my second semester of student teaching at the preschool on my campus. Currently, I am with children ages 1-3, and last spring I was with children ages 3-5. With this position, I create and teach lesson plans, write anecdotal observations/portfolios on the children pertaining to their progress in the seven main developmental areas, and have to supervise 10-15 children. For the Read more past two summers, I have been a babysitter for a 7-year-old boy with type 1 diabetes (through Care.com). Back in high school, I was a camp counselor at two Wilmette camps (with kids ages 5-11), and was an afterschool tutor for Chicago Public School students (ages 10-12). I grew up in Wilmette and graduated from New Trier in 2015. I am currently finishing my junior year (20 years old) and will be returning home to Wilmette for the summer. I had two unpaid internships last summer (for St. Jude Children's Hospital Chicago Regional Office and American Cancer Society) and while those were incredible experiences, I need to pursue a paying job for this summer to save for graduate school. I love working with children and families and love to make personal connections with other people, I'm such a people person! I could never spend a whole summer just working in a store, and nannying seems like a perfect job for me. I also have experience with housekeeping and errands from when I was a personal assistant for a graduate student with spinal muscular atrophy. I will be back in Chicago for the summer on May 13 and can start as soon as possible. Let me know if you want to set up a time to talk further, I am looking forward to hearing from you!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position employment
  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)
  • Available to start on 5/13/2018
  • My availability is valid through 6/30/18

Ratings & reviews

Amelia doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$10-$20/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Diabetes
    • Epilepsy
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Muscular Dystrophy
    • Seizures
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Repositioning
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Human Development and Family Studies (concentration in Child Development)

Currently attending University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Amelia's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now