JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • 3 years paid experience
  • Age 65
  • Nanny in Michigan City, IN 46360

Meet Kathleen

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have ‘nannied’ cousins and anyone I could from a very young age because of my love for children, and especially babies. I have had a several nanny jobs. One of the reasons that I think that I work so well with children is having the amazing example of my mother who was “auntie” (nanny) to 4 children. As a grandmother to seven children (which includes two sets of adopted siblings in one household that include special challenges at times). I have the privilege of caring for them at various times. Last year we hosted 6 grandchildren simultaneously and it including two consecutive overnights. I have been known as the “fun” aunt who would take nephews and nieces, along with my own three children, on outings or have spur of the moment sleepovers. I have an elementary education degree, with sociology and psychology, and have been trained in First Aid, Read more AED, and CPR that just recently expired. I substitute taught all ages of children in dozens of classrooms and have tutored students who didn’t really want to be tutored, with good success. Recently I was on the safety committee and did training and record keeping for OSHA standards. I am caring, kind, and patient. This is mixed with a guiding/ teaching philosophy who wants any child I meet to enjoy and succeed in life. I am sensitive to those with special needs and am willing to provide extra grace, as appropriate. Because I am a “people person” who is always “kid” friendly, I believe you will be pleased with the interaction that occurs with your sons and/or daughters. I love the library and enjoy taking children there to pick out books and explore new things. (Note: I am not ‘ glued’ to my phone. They will have my watchful attention.) Finally I am a person of integrity. I am honest and truthful and I appreciate others who are as well. If I make a mistake, I am not ashamed to admit it. And I think this is a great way to help children navigate thru life. Thank you for you consideration.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 6/1/19

Ratings & reviews

Kathleen doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$14-$20/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Social/Emotional
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Grooming and Hygiene

Education

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Kathleen's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now