JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Joan K.

Nanny in Louisville, KY 40242.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Louisville, KY

  • Age 74
  • 8 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within four months

Rating Average rating of 5 (2 reviews)

×

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (2)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

Joan is a truly wonderful nanny. She was excellent with our 7 month old daughter. She took her on walks, read ...

- Kristy R.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $10-$15 per hour

Joan’s Bio

I am a very active retired educator.  I have worked as a full time Nanny since my retirement from teaching.  I have really enjoyed my Nanny experiences.  I have a strong education background.  I have two grown and successful sons.   
In addition to my full time Nanny position I taught ESL to three Korean children.  I am a warm and caring person and love watching children develope and explore the world.  I see my self as a "Mrs Doubtfire" and enjoy finding fun ways to work with children and their families.  I try and make everyday experiences a learning experience.  Like going to a fruit market.  There are colors, counting and naming all involved in such a visit.
I have a Masters Degree from Columbia University in NYC.  I also play the piano and enjoy most of the arts and also enjoy sports.   I work out everyday and enjoy a very active life style.
 

Experience

Age Specific Experience

8 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)

4 to 5 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Down Syndrome

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Reviews

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (2)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

My daughter requested "Miss Joan" to come play again after the first time she met her! She was very verbal and interactive with both of my children, creative with her play and changed her style to suit the needs of whichever one of my children she was taking care of. She gently held my 3 year old accountable and straightened a bit when I was busy elsewhere in the house as a nice surprize. Bonus for me, she's familiar with gtube feeding so she was able to give me some respite care with my special needs infant and my oldest at the same time. She exudes the "loving grandma" persona naturally and I would use her again.

- Laurie S.
5

Joan is a truly wonderful nanny. She was excellent with our 7 month old daughter. She took her on walks, read books to her, played and took great care of her. Our daughter always lit up when she saw Miss Joan, which always makes a parent feel good about the decision to leave their child in the care of another person. I would highly recommend her to a family!

- Kristy R.

References

Donna H. is a reference for Joan K. Relationship: Family
Elizabeth K. is a reference for Joan K. Relationship: Family
Jump to Top
Joan K.
Joan K.
Louisville, KY 40242
74

years
of age

8

years experience

Preferred Rate $10-$15 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now