JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Katharine E.

Nanny in Brookline, MA 02446.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

  • University of Massachusetts - Boston

    University of Massachusetts - Boston

Brookline, MA

  • Age 33
  • 20 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within six months

Preferred Rate $18-$22 per hour

Katharine’s Bio

I am 3o years old and just graduated from UMass Boston with a Masters of Education in Elementary Education. I have worked in a first grade classroom for all of this year as a teaching resident, and I plan on having my own classroom in September. I am looking for full-time summer work. I was a nanny before going back to graduate school. I love children, and have thoroughly enjoyed my past experiences with childcare!

My most recent nanny positions were in the South End. Before going back to school, I split my time between caring for a 2 year old and 6-12 month old for one family, and then a 4 year old and a 2 year old for another family. Before that I cared for a 18 month-3 year old for a year and a half in Back Bay, until they sadly moved away.

A little about my childcare philosophy: I love children and love helping them learn. I think it's important that learning and playing go hand-in-hand. I also think that consistency in discipline is important for them to learn boundaries. I think that their creativity and imagination should be nourished. I love planning activities, and arts and crafts, to keep children engaged in learning through playing.

A little about myself: I am originally from Pawling, NY. I attended Kent School in Kent, CT for high school, and then went to Hobart and William Smith Colleges in Geneva, NY. I worked after graduation in website content at a company in CT. I then moved to Boston, and nannied full-time for a little while, until I began working as a Site Content Producer at a website in South Boston. In 2012 I was laid off. I had loved my job, but I did miss nannying a lot, so I went right back to into it. Eventually I decided that I would really like to be a teacher so I went back to school. So here I am, just graduated, with my summer off. I look forward to finding a great family to work for this summer! :)


Age Specific Experience

20 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Developmental Language Disorder
  • Down Syndrome
  • Hearing Loss
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mobility Challenges
  • Premature Newborn
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Applied Behavior Analysis
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Available to start on 6/30/2014


My availability is valid through 8/22/14

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Crafts
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling


Lauren R. is a reference for Katharine E. Relationship: Former Employer
Allie O. is a reference for Katharine E. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Katharine E.
Katharine E.
Brookline, MA 02446

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $18-$22 per hour

  • CPR Training

  • University of Massachusetts - Boston

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now