JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Dorothy D.

Nanny in Somerville, MA 02145.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

Somerville, MA

  • Age 37
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within five months

Preferred Rate $13-$20 per hour

Dorothy’s Bio

My name is Dorothy DeRocher. I am a mother of three amazing children. 8, 4, and 18 months old. I have well over 10 years of childcare experience. I have to admit, I have learned the most being a mom!
The last family I worked for had two amazing little girls. They were 2 and 5 years of age. I nannied for them until I had to leave due to high blood pressure during my last pregnancy. Although it was sad to leave, I was fortunate enough to have been able to stay home one on one with my daughter for the past year! Julia Gwynne ( the mother of the two girls) is more than happy to share my preformance as her nanny/sitter with you! Julia Qwynne, 857-288-9526
  The family I worked for before my last position was a short term position. I worked with this family for around 4 months. I started with their family when their son was only 5 weeks old.  His mother Ilana has written a review on my preformance. Please feel free to contact her! Ilana 978-304-6325
The family I worked for before Ilana was from Sep. 2009-Dec. 2010 They had  two wonderful children. Sally 2 1/2yrs. and William now 10mo. They actually made a move to Seattle.  That was a tough one, we became very close.   Erika Wagner also wrote a review on my preformance.  Also please feel free to contact her 617-251-6714
I love being active with kids, getting out to sing--alongs, parks, and story hours. Around the house, we paint, sing, dance, cook and play. HUGE fan of books for all ages!
Having worked in both daycare and home settings, I am comfortable with a wide range of ages, numbers and needs of children. 
Call or e-mail if I seem like a good match for your family!
Thank you, Dorothy DeRocher


Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

6 to 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Delayed Speech
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Epilepsy
  • Seizures

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 8/5/16

  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling


Julia Q. is a reference for Dorothy D. Relationship: Former Employer
Schuyler P. is a reference for Dorothy D. Relationship: Friend
Jump to Top
Dorothy D.
Dorothy D.
Somerville, MA 02145

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $13-$20 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now