JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Avril W.

Nanny in Portland, ME 04101.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Portland, ME

  • Age 33
  • 12 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $17-$20 per hour

Avril’s Bio

Hi! My name is Avril!  BACKGROUND: I am 31 years old. I grew up in rural Maine and received a A.A. at Northwest Florida State before I moved to Salem, MA to continue school in Art Education and received my B.A. in May 2013. Since then I have been solo travelling the world and just returned home to Maine after 7 months in Australia. INTERESTS: I enjoy a wide range of activities especially different art forms. I love pottery, painting, scrapbooking, photography, and craft projects and because of where I was raised I grew to love animals, the outdoors, wildlife, and different forms of recreation. I also love to bake. My biggest passion in travel. EXPERIENCE: I have experience with children ranging in ages from newborn-14 years. I was a camp counselor for 5 and 6 year olds at a summer day camp. Before that I worked as a substitute toddler and preschool teacher, and as an afterschool program counselor for first graders.  After moving to Florida I was employed at a local recreation center and worked with kids K-2 grade and was the Activities Director for all ages at a beach resort.  Since moving to Massachusetts I have babysat for numerous families in Marblehead, even running my own mini summer camp and after school program for kids in the neighborhood. I also teach clay classes to kids ages 5-12.   I couldn't imagine working in another field. I have taken 40 hours of childcare training courses that are offered by the state of Florida along with an Early Child Literacy and Guidance and Discipline module. I have spent my senior practicum teaching art to 4th-8th graders and just finished teaching art at a community art center to a variety of ages.  I love kids and I don't want to be just a nanny, but I also believe in being a good role model and like a big sister. I am also open to household management duties including but not limit to some housework, run errands, and take care of pets if needed. I also have a clean driving record. I hope that you will consider me for a position because I would love to get to know you, your kids, and the rest of your family.  Thanks! *Avril*


Age Specific Experience

12 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Delayed Speech
  • Epilepsy
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Seizures
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Bathing
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 1/31/17

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
Jump to Top
Avril W.
Avril W.
Portland, ME 04101

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $17-$20 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now