JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Laurel P.

Nanny in Detroit, MI 48221.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Detroit, MI

  • Age 44
  • 15 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Rating Average rating of 5 (1 review)


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
Responsible, caring, friendly caregiver!

Laurel has been caring for our daughter for the past several months and we couldn't be happier! She is prompt, p...

- Meredith B.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $10-$25 per hour

Laurel’s Bio

As a mother, I understand that your family is important to you and you want to ensure that their care is provided by someone who values them as much as you do. My name is Laurel Popp and I am available to care for your children as a nanny or babysitter. Along with experience as a mother, I have experience as a nanny and babysitter and as a professional therapist.

I passed a criminal background check and continue to maintain my good standing with the state of Michigan in order to earn my license as a counselor. I would like to expand my income opportunities as your personal childcare provider.

I have been a babysitter since I was 10 years old and find it extremely fulfilling. From 1994-1996, I cared for a young sister and brother as their nanny. While preparing for my own family, I studied many articles and books about child care and development. Keeping current on these topics allows me to communicate well with parents, caregivers, and healthcare professionals regarding the children in my charge.

I have two sons, 9 and 11 years old. My first son suffered with asthma from birth to age 6 which was treated with the use of a nebulizer. He also suffers with social anxiety and Asperger-like symptoms which are currently well managed. I was a full-time mother from 2002 to 2008 and cared for other children as a babysitter from time to time. I also taught children’s classes. My favorite memories are of gathering children together for games and activities that are educational and fun!

I am confident in my ability to provide creative activities for many situations including quiet time, bed time, and meal time. I am also willing to perform light housekeeping duties so you can enjoy your time with your children. I believe in keeping children healthy, active, and learning. I own a car and have an impeccable driving record. I enjoy taking children on field trips (with your permission) and currently have memberships to the Detroit Zoo, Michigan Science Center, Cranbrook Science Center, and Detroit Institute of Arts.

I am excited to meet you and your family and learn how I can be of service to you.


Age Specific Experience

15 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)

6 to 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Age groups: Youth, Teen
Has own special needs child
Years of Experience: 4 to 5 years

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Respiratory Care
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 1/31/14

  • Weekday Early Morning (Before School)
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekday Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • English
  • Essay Writing

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
Responsible, caring, friendly caregiver!

Laurel has been caring for our daughter for the past several months and we couldn't be happier! She is prompt, professional, caring and kind with all members of our family. She will honor our requests without hesitation and has helps out without even being asked. Laurel is a down-to-earth, kind person and we're very pleased she's caring for our 22 month old daughter!

- Meredith B.
Jump to Top
Laurel P.
Laurel P.
Detroit, MI 48221

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $10-$25 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now