Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 20 years paid experience
  • Age 66
  • Nanny in Minneapolis, MN 55419

Meet Barbara

  • Special Education Certification
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello! My name is Barb, and I'm at a point in my life where I understand that dealing with children is definitely one of my strengths -- and I've always known it. My kids are grown now (and they've got kids!) -- but even in high school, I worked for many years with the Hayward Area Rec. and Park District (Hayward, Ca.) -- as a lifeguard, coach and swim instructor. (I've literally taught hundreds of kids how to swim!) I worked for 24 years in healthcare as a Health Unit Coordinator, 17 years alone in Maternal Child Health. I also worked in Birth and Family Education, and 7 years in Internal Medicine at Aspen Clinic in St. Paul. Since 2010, I've been a paraprofessional in the South Washington County School District, originally as a substitute for all grades K-12, plus ECFE and their Kids Club program. The last 3 years, Read more I've worked at Woodbury Middle School in Special Ed., giving me a "highly qualified paraprofessional" distinction, working with kids with autism, etc. Since 2011, I worked every summer with Kids Club, helping with daily activities, snacks, field trips. I had a blast. So I'm an empty-nester who's ready for a new adventure! I'm somewhat oldfashioned when it comes to time spent on devises, emphasizing time spent reading books or being outside, instead. I've worked in 3 National Parks, as well, knowing that time spent in nature will have life-long benefits for all generations. I'd like to think I'm gifted, when it comes to dealing with kids. I can cook a good meal, and clean up after myself, too! ( I'm not a fan of fast foods, OR of Cool Whip, either, ha!) -- but I'm pretty adept at all aspects of raising a child -- and I'm fun, too. And I understand Mary Poppin's theory of how "a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down... "-- like, for many issues! I come with experience! 😄 Thank you, Barb Diffendal

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Available to start on 3/4/2019
  • My availability is valid through 3/4/19

Ratings & reviews

Barbara doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $10 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Down Syndrome
    • Epilepsy
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Seizures
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Radio Broadcasting

Attended Brown College of Court Reporting and Medical Transcription

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Barbara's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now