JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Amy S.

Nanny in Minneapolis, MN 55405.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Minneapolis, MN

  • Age 46
  • 9 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $10-$18 per hour

Amy’s Bio

Hi there! I'm a professional actor, writer and storyteller who's been doing freelance child care to help support my career in the arts. I babysat quite a bit when I was a teenager and into my sophomore year of college, and have since worked with kids of all ages in other capacities: I've taught kids' theatre classes, been a summer camp counselor, sat for families both on call and on a consistent schedule and have been a church childcare provider. I find kids to be insightful, inspiring, and hilarious; my enthusiasm for interacting with them is always genuine. I love reading together, doing art projects, taking walks, and spontaneously inventing games to play. Also, I have no qualms about being absolutely goofy. I'm also available to tutor, and to do combination sitting/tutoring gigs (for example, one of the children for whom I sat was in first grade and needed homework help).  

I emphasize compassion, cooperation and respect when I work with kids, and I'm not intimidated by mental or physical challenges, or different learning and communication styles. Housework and meal prep are also within my range.  I don't have a car; I get around by bus, bike and feet, so if you're looking for drop-offs and pick-ups, that's probably not something I can do - sorry!

Please give me a call to chat. I live in Uptown Minneapolis (centrally located to much of the urban area), am fun, intelligent, warm, genuine and responsible, and look forward to hearing from you!

Experience

Age Specific Experience

9 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

1 year of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Down Syndrome
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mental Illness
  • Sensory Integration Disorder

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Available to start on 4/6/2016

Availability

My availability is valid through 7/5/16

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts

References

Kristine H. is a reference for Amy S. Relationship: Co-worker
Laya T. is a reference for Amy S. Relationship: Friend
Jump to Top
Amy S.
Amy S.
Minneapolis, MN 55405
46

years
of age

9

years experience

Preferred Rate $10-$18 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now