Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 38
  • Nanny in Saint Louis, MO 63123

Meet Melissa

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am 31 years old and have worked with children since I was 16. Most recently, I was a teacher's assistant at an independent school for 3-4-year-olds. I have extensive knowledge and education with this age group regarding social, academic, developmental, and emotional development. I also have a large amount of experience with other age groups, infants through 12. Currently, I am in grad school for counseling, and have class on Monday's and Wednesday's from 5:30-9:30 p.m. , which would be my only conflicts. My philosophy in taking care of children, is there is never a need for time out, other methods such as talking it through and explaining why an action is inappropriate, can be more effective. I believe there is no benefit of sitting a child in front of a TV. The occasional movie or TV show is OK, but other activities are so much more beneficial. Children Read more at all ages have brains like sponges and that should be taken advantage of. I like to have fun at work and I don't sit still very easily, which makes me a perfect fit for working with children. Of course I would not be the child's parent, therefore I will talk at great length with the parents to ensure I am taking care of their child exactly as they were if they could be home. If you have questions or concerns, please contact me. I would love to hear from you!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and evenings

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • My availability is valid through 1/3/14

Ratings & reviews

Melissa doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$25/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Autism
    • Diabetes

Education

Counseling

Webster University

References

Additional services

  • Potty Training
  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

Share Melissa's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now