JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Opal B.

Nanny in Gastonia, NC 28052.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Gastonia, NC

  • Age 45
  • 20 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Last week

Rating Average rating of 5 (1 review)


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
We recommend Opal!

Opal cared for our 13 month old son for a week as a temp while our full-time nanny was on vacation. Our son tak...

- Rodney R.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $13-$25 per hour

Opal’s Bio

I am a loving child care professional with over 20 years of experience. I recognize the individuality of children, and attempt to create an environment that fosters their trust, self esteem, and independence. Realizing the various stages of child development, I work cooperatively with the family to engage their children in positive and constructive activities. I provide the type care that I myself would want for my children, playing with them, and giving them encouragement and guidance as they discover the world around them. Along with my 20 years of professional experience, I can also offer you: * An Associate Degree in Early Childhood Education * A Certificate in Basic Child Care * A Certificate in Infant & Toddler * A Certificate in Child Care Administration * CPR & First Aid * SIDS Training * Child Care Credentials 1 & 2 * A TB test and Physical Examination * Certification in Massage Therapy * A Background Check * Excellent References
 I also have lots of other various documented child care related training, and am a member of the (INA) International Nanny Association. I can provide a portfolio documenting my experience, education, training, and also provide excellent references. I am very affectionate, nurturing, and absolutely confident that I can create a loving environment for your children to learn and grow in.  Thank you so much for your consideration!


Age Specific Experience

20 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Alzheimer's
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Delayed Speech
  • Developmental Language Disorder
  • Down Syndrome
  • Hearing Loss
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mobility Challenges
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Grooming and Hygiene

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 12/1/17

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
We recommend Opal!

Opal cared for our 13 month old son for a week as a temp while our full-time nanny was on vacation. Our son takes a while to warm up to new people and would often cry in the care of others (other than mom, dad and full-time nanny) and Opal was able to manage through that with patience and calming techniques. She kept our son on his daily schedule / routine. She provided baby communication tips/advice based on her observations/experience with our child and she did it in a positive way. As a new mom, I appreciated that advice. Even though we only had Opal for a week, we could tell that her knowledge, practical experience combined with her warm and positive personality make her a good partner in caring for and nurturing babies/toddlers. We recommend her. Give her a call or meet her in person.

- Rodney R.


Heather S. is a reference for Opal B. Relationship: Former Employer
Meghan G. is a reference for Opal B. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Opal B.
Opal B.
Gastonia, NC 28052

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $13-$25 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now