JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Laura S.

Nanny in Raleigh, NC 27606.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

Raleigh, NC

  • Age 28
  • 15 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within four months

Preferred Rate $15-$25 per hour

Laura’s Bio

Hello Moms and Dads!
I'm Laura Shank and I am a 27 year old college graduate, with my BS in Interior Design and a minor in Theatre. I have been watching children for about 16 years, including my two younger sisters, Beth who is now 22 and Darcy who is 18.
I have babysat for too many families to count since around the time I was 11 years old. If you'd like a full list, I'm sure I can compile it for you, but you'll have to give me a few hours :)
My nanny experience started with the Rogoway family, I worked with them for four years, until they moved out of my state. Their daughter Ella draws me into their family tree and they have flown me to Oregon twice to visit, and brought me to Florida in Feb. 2016 to do Disney with their family. They just had their second child and I'm looking forward to going to see my new little sister!
In Raleigh I have worked part time with the Thompson family, and their infant, Daniel. We spent a lot of time running around and taking walks. I also sit occasionally for Amelia (4) and Ben (3), and have been for about two years.
I currently nanny for the Marks family, two days a week with Daphne, (15 months) and sometimes her sister Jacie (3 1/2). Their work schedule is changing and I'm going to be free for the summer only PART TIME.
If you'd like, all these families will give you glowing references for my work. I truly love children and have too much experience for my own good!
Need more? I traveled the country performing motivational assemblies for k-8 graders for a year, I spent 7 years working as a day camp counselor, and like I said, I have two younger sisters that I still feel like I'm babysitting sometimes!
I am willing to work with boys and girls, at any age.
My ideal family would be fun and active. I'd love a family that wants more than a nanny, they want someone to be a part of the family. If this is you, let me know.


Age Specific Experience

15 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

2 to 3 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 8/30/16

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling


Abby R. is a reference for Laura S.
Abby R. is a reference for Laura S.
Jump to Top
Laura S.
Laura S.
Raleigh, NC 27606

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$25 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now