JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Chris P.

Nanny in Astoria, NY 11102.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Astoria, NY

  • Age 40
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Male

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $13-$40 per hour

Chris’s Bio

Christopher Podvin 41-14 68th Street, Suite 2b Woodside (Queens), NY 11377
2009-Present Private After-School Teacher and Childcare Provider, Woodside, Queens, NY Lead Teacher and Curriculum Developer
> Provide a positive, safe, yet challenging environment where kids advance.  > Create curriculum focusing on the needs of the child. > Plan and chaperone activities such as field trips and daily park visits. > Assist in the development of behavior, reading, social, and speech skills.
2008 The Journey, New York, NY Director of Volunteers
> Facilitated the serving activities of up to 100 volunteers each week. > Developed a new system of recruiting, training, and retention. > Encouraged each volunteer to discover, develop, and utilize their own unique gifts and    talents as they served. > Delivered, inventoried, purchased, and stored supplies as needed.
2005-2007 US Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Fayetteville, AR MSA Lead Clerk for Specialty Clinics, Chief of Cardiology, and the Chief of Staff
> Coordinated the activities of eight specialty clinics utilizing 5 exam rooms.  > Scheduled Patients for clinic appointments, labs, and all required testing. > Trained new employees and cross-trained fellow employees. > Promoted and transferred for providing excellent service.
2004 New York University, New York, NY  Real Estate
> Special Courses in Contracts, Leasing, Property Management, and Sales. > Certified and licensed to sell real estate in the state of New York.
2003-2004 Bergen Community College, Paramus, NJ Surgical Tech and Allied Health Program
> Served as a Senator in Student Government Council (2003 and 2004).  > Curriculum and Bookstore Committee Chairman (2003). > Hands-on training in Surgical Assisting Techniques.
Attention Parents:
I am the Manny you've scene at the playgrounds (especially in and around Central Park, Astoria Park, and Juniper Park). No, not that guy...the other one. I'm the one who is actually playing with the kids. Caring, engaging, participating in the activities, and teaching them all with a positive attitude. I have experience caring for Children from birth to school aged. My passion is to nurture and teach young children. Working as a Manny is very rewarding, you'd be paying me to do something I really enjoy. My positive attitude and engaging personality usually sets me apart from typical "Care-Takers". I see myself as more of a Care-Giver, who is responsible for providing the best possible care for your child. I know how to balance the daily needs of Infants and Toddlers. I am an active member of the Zoo and the Aquarium with a yearly pass. I frequent the Children's Museum in both Brooklyn and Manhattan. I enjoy spending time at the parks and playgrounds daily. I am well versed in several types of classes, playgroups, and other citywide developmental options. While we're inside I enjoy engaging the child with games, playing with toys, and reading. Regardless of whether we're inside or out my primary focus remains to find ways to help aid the development of cognitive, motor, social, and speech skills. Simply put, Your kid(s) will not be stuck in front of the TV all day with me in charge. References are available upon request. Please contact me at your earliest convenience to discuss how I might be of service to your family.  
Very Truly Yours,  
Chris Podvin 


Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)

Skills & Abilities

Additional Services:

  • Potty Training
  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help


Alexia M. is a reference for Chris P.
Nick G. is a reference for Chris P.
Jump to Top
Chris P.
Chris P.
Astoria, NY 11102

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $13-$40 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now