JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Melanie C.

Nanny in Astoria, NY 11106.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Astoria, NY

  • Age 29
  • 12 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within six months

Preferred Rate $17-$20 per hour

Melanie’s Bio

Hi there! My name is Melanie, I am 28 and looking for a babysitting opportunities in Manhattan or the Astoria/Long Island City area. I have extensive experience in childcare and I love working with kids of all ages!

I live in Astoria and I am in my second year of a PhD program in Psychology and Law. I have B.S. in Psychology from Fordham University, where I focused my studies on early childhood development. I worked as an Assistant Teacher for three years at Knowledge Beginnings Daycare and Preschool in Lexington, MA, where I worked predominately with children ages 6-weeks through 3-years. I also worked at the Munroe Center for the Arts day camp in Lexington, MA for four summers with children ages 5 through 12.

I have experience working as a nanny for children of various ages. During the spring of 2011 I worked as a full-time nanny for two children, ages 2 and 4, and occasionally cared for their newborn brother as well. In the summer of 2010 I worked as a part time nanny for two children, ages 2 and 5, and during the summer of 2008 I worked full-time for a family of three children, ages 4, 6, and 10. Since moving back to New York four years ago, I have babysat on nights and weekends for various families. I can provide you with strong references upon request.

I am very comfortable with diapers and bottles if needed, and I am happy to do light housework and cooking. I love arts and crafts (and after working at an arts camp I have a lot of ideas saved up!), or anything else creative – at a previous job, the kids and I made cupcakes and decorated them to look like pigs! I also love spending time outside and being active. I am a strong swimmer and am comfortable supervising kids in the pool. I am also comfortable with driving if needed, and I have a clean driving record (although I do not currently own a car).

I would love to speak with you about potential babysitting positions! Please feel free to contact me via email at melanie.j.close@gmail.com.

Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/pub/melanie-close/18/94/187

Experience

Age Specific Experience

12 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

4 to 5 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Epilepsy

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 6/23/15

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Spanish

Homework Help:

  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
Jump to Top
Melanie C.
Melanie C.
Astoria, NY 11106
29

years
of age

12

years experience

Preferred Rate $17-$20 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now