Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 27
  • Nanny in Brooklyn, NY 11205

Meet Sophie

  • Comfortable with pets

Hi! My name is Sophie and I am Licensed Creative Arts Therapist who specializes in working with kids with special needs. I have experience with children with a wide variety of abilities, including kids on the Autism Spectrum. I worked in a therapeutic school for nearly 2 years, and direct the art program at a residential summer camp for kids with social, emotional, and learning challenges. I love arts and crafts, being outdoors, and biking. I would love to be active and create with your children!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 11/3/17

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Ferdinando V.

8/7/2014

Sophie has taken care of two girls of 8 and 10 years old for two weeks, eight hours a day. It has been a splendid experience for the girls, and a very reassuring presence for us. She has organised, every day, a clear and agreed schedule, including fun activities in Manhattan, craft activities at home, study/homework time, music time, calm home play when tired. She has tuned the day to both girls needs and she has managed to make them so happy and interested in everything they did, we were sincerely surprised. She has communicated appropriately with the girls and with us, they have used subways and walked in Manhattan always very safe, she has prepared meals with them when necessary, at home, and she has been very sensible with daily expenses, with great detail summaries. We strongly recommend her!

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$25-$35/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Pervasive Development Disorder
    • Visual Impairment
    • Bathing
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Masters of Professional Studies in Art Therapy

Graduated School of Visual Arts 2016

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Sophie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now