JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Shanika F.

Nanny in Brooklyn, NY 11233.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Brooklyn, NY

  • Age 29
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within a month

Preferred Rate $16-$30 per hour

Shanika’s Bio

I am a Certified Baby Nurse and a Certified Nanny with my CPR certfication as well. I have a degree in Early Childhood education with hopes of opening my own pre-school in the near future. I have 10+ years exeperience as a Nanny and 8 years experience as a Baby Nurse. I believe in positive reinforcement, providing developmentally appropiate activities, reading, going on trips or adventures and providing a stable, nurturing and safe environment at all times. To me childcare is not a job, children are my heart. I have a love and passion for children of all ages that is unexplainable. I have always had a natural gift for connecting with children. When it comes to children, it is a great joy of mine to nurture and tend to them. I do so without yelling or spanking and by being a good example and role model. I prefer to be with families long-term because it promotes healthy attachment & bonding but also because I would love to become part of the family and not just an employee. 

I am responsible, trustworthy, dependable, silly, nurturing, kind, a child at heart, a multitasker and a self-starter and motivator. I've interned in Early childhood settings, day care centers, nursuries and hospitals for a total of five years. I have no limitations to the amount of tasks I can handle as well as no allergies to pets. (I love pets also!) I come from a family of nurses, nannies, and baby nurses. I learn from and work closely with my grandmother, who is a certified baby nurse specializing in twins & triplets. She is also my role-model!

I have many references, all of which are available and have nothing but good things to say about me. Ive also put together a suggested baby, layette, and equipment list designed for a newborns arrival or a new mommy. I believe I am a great candidate for any family who is looking for a peace of mind when it comes to their children and their home!


Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Delayed Speech
  • Developmental Language Disorder
  • Diabetes
  • Hearing Loss
  • Heart Defects
  • Juvenile Diabetes
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Pervasive Development Disorder
  • Premature Newborn
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Applied Behavior Analysis
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
  • Blood Glucose Testing
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Feeding Tube
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 9/21/16

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling


Dina C. is a reference for Shanika F. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Shanika F.
Shanika F.
Brooklyn, NY 11233

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $16-$30 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now